Three FAH mifi has just stopped despite more data left on

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Jac Sprat, Oct 15, 2016.

  1. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Posting again in a new thread as we'd like advice
    Our mifi has just stopped working abroad
    We have used it for three weeks on the go now and 7 in May/,June and 5 in March/April . We are on a 20gig Mifi for £20 a month and we have 7 gig remaining .
    It says 'you have been redirected to three.co.uk too many times'
    we have never got texts or emails from them.
    Does anyone have any idea?
    This is our only data card so apart from local wifi it's all we have so this is heavy news.
    Do you think that's it for a ,year now?
    Will attempt to ring the help line.
    Any thoughts appreciated as ever.
     
  2. zulurita

    zulurita Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Somerset
    I believe once abroad the Gb are limited to 12Gb and use of 60 days in a year. Mine is for 15Gb on the Feel at Home package and seems to have worked ok on our two trips abroad. However we did also have Orange.fr and SFR to use in May but on our last trip it worked in France and Spain in most places. In Portugal I kept it off as WiFi was available in most places.
     
  3. Vick

    Vick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Southampton
    Hi, Just a thought. Have you accessed your mifi's. 'Web page'? Any texts you have been sent will show up there. On mine I open the browser and type http://192.168.0.1 into the address bar. This should bring up an 'admin' page which might throw some light on your problem.


    Chris
     
  4. denisejoe

    denisejoe Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    836
    Location:
    Isle of Sheppy
    The text we received said 2 months in a 12 month period - not in one block so I think you've probably been lucky to have had that number of weeks already.

    Denise
     
  5. Candapack

    Candapack Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    1,255
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Similar happened to us in France a couple of weeks ago. Said we had no data left when I knew we did.
    Must have rebooted itself (or something) overnight as it was back to normal the next day.
     
  6. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    It would seem you have been caught by the 2 month in 12 rule. We managed to get 6 last year but I think they have tightened up since extending coverage.
    We are prepared to be cut off in our first week in France, so will cancel the contract and have some 12g cards in reserve.
    There will probably be texts on your admin page but I guess all you can do is buy local cards
     
  7. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Thanks
    Can we put a foreign data sim in our Three Mifi so we can connect on multiple devices?
     
  8. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    As long as it is not locked to the 3 network................don't know how you check though. Where did you get it from
    Also as on my other post have you threatened to cancel your contract with 3...............there might be some leeway to extend.
     
  9. Dazzlin

    Dazzlin Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    815
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Location:
    on the road
    All three devices are unlocked I was told. If not a local market phone shop will be able to sort it.

    We have used numerous local sims in ours.

    Now we just carry a few 12gb 3 sims and swap them round after two months if there is data left.
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  10. webby1

    webby1 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    203
    Location:
    Lancashire
    You're right .................take the 12g sim out after 2 months and any unused data can be used back in UK.
    I read a post somewhere that when you use sim back in UK it resets to 12g but I can't quite believe that
     
  11. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,480
    Likes Received:
    5,522
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales

    Mine didn't:cry:
     
  12. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,658
    Likes Received:
    6,795
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    Mine didn't either. As I understand it, it's 12 x Gb or 12 months, end of.

    Our first one expires in April 2017, but I am expecting it to be cut off before that, when out of the UK. No2 is in the packet waiting. ;)

    Cheers,

    Jock. :)
     
  13. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Location:
    Salisbury
    We have a spare sim that is activated so have the option to use that when first one is stopped.
     
  14. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Don't you have to pay just the same for a spare sim though?
     
  15. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Norfolk
    If so then there's no point paying £20 twice
    May as well buy a second three phone with lots of data
     
  16. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Well we. Bought them from Mymemory £22 each for 12gb over 12 mths. So not going to break the bank!
     
  17. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Trouble is partner needs huge print and can only get tat in Kindle
     
  18. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    1,639
    Location:
    Salisbury
    Or sims are Data for Huwie and cellular iPad works well wife has kindle paperwhite with cellular free she down loads everywhere with it.
     
  19. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Norfolk
    A sim with 12 gigs in though can't go in a mifi can it? Isn't that a phone sim?
    If so can we get a German mifi sim out here? And if so can we take it to other eastern European countries? Doubt that somehow...
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  20. Jac Sprat

    Jac Sprat Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    480
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Hmm
    Any suggestions what we should do? Not coming back till April!
     
Loading...

Share This Page