Three Data Sim Still Working

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by stevec, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. stevec

    stevec Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    204
    Location:
    Norwich
    Last year we bought a couple of 1GB data SIMs to use in a Three Mifi unit for our trip to France. Not used it since then and just checked it out ready for our trip to France in a couple of weeks and find that I can still connect to the internet through it using the original SIM (only 100MB left though). Seems to still work after 9 months and not the 1 month it was supposed to. Anyone else find this?
     
  2. Dorwyn

    Dorwyn Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    286
    Location:
    somerset
    Lucky you! Not I, said the ...
     
  3. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I agree, very lucky. However, the cost of top-up might be more than a new SIM pre-loaded with 1GB data allowance.
     
  4. stevec

    stevec Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    204
    Location:
    Norwich
    The wife will be getting a 3GB SIM this lunchtime from Argos. Seems to be the most cost effective at £20. Last year the 1 GB SIMs were £10 (but Argos sold them off for a fiver each). Cheapest 1GB SIM I could find is about £7 on ebay.
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  5. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    I intended to buy a 3GB 3 month SIM but am now toying with the idea of buying the 12GB 12 month SIM for about £70. It all depends on frequency and duration of trips to France and Spain :confused:
     
    • Useful Useful x 1
  6. stevec

    stevec Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    204
    Location:
    Norwich
    I wish I went so often that I needed to consider that option! Next year will be different. Only thirteen months to retirement!!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    You are probably aware that you need to activate the new SIM before you leave UK. You can then pop the old SIM back in the MiFi to exhaust that data before starting on the new SIM. I usually pop the new SIM into my MiFi and boot it up at the ferry terminal to ensure I get the maximum number of days abroad :)
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  8. Taran_Las

    Taran_Las Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6,480
    Likes Received:
    5,523
    Location:
    Near Mold North Wales
    Just loaded a new 3 sim into my router (not activated prior to leaving UK) works just fine. Connected seamlessly.
     
  9. Rob Paula and Pablo

    Rob Paula and Pablo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Milton keynes
    i have a mifi and we are of for six weeks to france and spain. So do i have this you can buy your sim here and us the data in france and spain. is it any network or do i need a specific one.
     
  10. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,574
    Likes Received:
    11,553
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    It will connect to a local network partnered with Three automatically. You don't need to do anything. There will be places it won't work, but they are few and far apart based on my recent experience and if you go to popular places you should be fine.

    However, it can be slow but should be adequate for normal browsing. I wanted to upload a 90mb video today but the Three card said it wanted two hours to do it despite allegedly having a 3g signal. I put a Europasim in the mifi, which is vodaphone, and it uploaded in less than 5 minutes. But the Three sim is still a great deal. Just make sure it all works before leaving the UK, roaming is on and if you have payg your card is registered with them.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Rob Paula and Pablo

    Rob Paula and Pablo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Milton keynes
  12. Rob Paula and Pablo

    Rob Paula and Pablo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Milton keynes
    found it europa sim got it lol! (y)
     
  13. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,574
    Likes Received:
    11,553
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Sorry, sounds like an EU affliction doesn't it? Unfortunately, no longer available, but a very useful back up if you have one. I can't remember the cost but it gives 500mb per day for something like a pound or two. Useful for say updating apps or some other data hungry operation if no WiFi available.
     
  14. Rob Paula and Pablo

    Rob Paula and Pablo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Milton keynes
    ould EE work. I have found a data sim EE 6gb 3 months for £15.
     
  15. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,574
    Likes Received:
    11,553
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Difficult to say without knowing the package. There will probably be a daily roaming fee.
     
  16. Rob Paula and Pablo

    Rob Paula and Pablo

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Milton keynes
    So f i went for the 3 network would this also need a roaming fee.
     
  17. Flamenca

    Flamenca Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    453
    Location:
    Cornwall/France/Spain
    That is interesting. I will take a non-activated second SIM with me next time to use when re-entering France from Spain. I still tend to use a Vodafone.ES SIM in Spain as I find it gives me better comms speed and is about the same cost at 10 Euros for a month with 1GB allowance.
     
  18. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    12,118
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    you lot seem vary low data users, we do still use ours for work emails while abroad and Bev goes into the first phone shop she finds, we buy a mini sim for her ipad, EE 30 euros 8Gb 30 days use it or lose it, we can use that as a hot spot as well for laptops, but we will use most of the 8Gb in three weeks away

    we also have a mifi bought last September at Lincoln to take to France / Spain last year, can't remember what sim we put in that but it still worked this May when we went back, that was EE as well

    as part of a multi week trip I don't mind paying £25 to have virtually unlimited access, in conjunction with site wifi via our iBoost
     
    • Like Like x 1
  19. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,574
    Likes Received:
    11,553
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    Not if you are in a "feel at home" country. You just pay the same charges as you would as if you were in the UK. That's the benefit of it.
     
  20. Cyclewalkbob

    Cyclewalkbob Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    West Sussex
    I rang 3 today about loading 3g of data for a month, on a pay as you go sim for £15 in my 3 Mifi.

    The guy told me if I get a rolling contract for £15 a month I get 10g of data.

    He says as soon as I get it I give 30 days notice - it just costs me £15 and three times the data!

    I am off to the 3 shop tomorrow to check!
     
Loading...

Share This Page