Thetford fridge won't work on 240v

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by SteveB123, Oct 15, 2015.

  1. SteveB123

    SteveB123 Funster

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    Anglesey
    Advice needed please. I have a Thetford N3000 fridge freezer series which has stopped working on 240v it has happened since I plugged in to a supply with reverse polarity in France. Code 8 comes up on the screen which means a 240v problem. Has anyone had this happen to them and was it a quick fix? It is still under warranty but I am in Spain at the moment. It works OK on gas.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. tonyidle

    tonyidle Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    2,686
    Location:
    Kendal, Cumbria
    Can't help with your present problem except to say that the fridge (along with every other 240v appliance) doesn't care which way live & neutral are connected so the reversed mains feed will not be the cause.
     
  3. castor

    castor Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Reguiny France
    What age is your fridge? Mine was a year old and similar, called therford who suggested take off outside lower vent , disconnect mains plug wait five secs and then reconnect , ensuring electric mains to van is disconnected . Then reconnect mains and all worked .
    After returned from holls saw main dealer who fitted a link "fix" and no problem since.
    Hope helps.
     
  4. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    This chart suggests you may have low 240v .. common on Spanish sites..
    on one Spanish site I measured below 200v at peak times..

    have you checked the voltage is present and correct ? Capture.PNG
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  5. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    4,705
    Location:
    Guisborough
    The Thetford web site says that the error code 8 is AC voltage 20% under the nominal 240 which I could imagine is possible on foreign hook up.

    It says check the 5 amp glass fuse, in the back I guess.

    Martin

    Oops Jim was quicker!.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,459
    Likes Received:
    4,705
    Location:
    Guisborough
    • Like Like x 1
  7. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    [
    is that helpful ?

    Capture.PNG

    edit.
    I may have misunderstood.. scrub that
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page