Thetford Fridge Freezer in Hymer Exsis-No Display & Not Working

Discussion in 'Fridges & Ovens' started by DrRogerRam, Dec 5, 2014.

  1. DrRogerRam

    DrRogerRam Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    Hi,
    We have a 3 way Thetford Fridge Freezer & lost the display & power this evening. Normally it is automatic & switches between hook-up, gas or 12v. Zilch on the display & not working.

    Maybe coincidentally we had a Snipe sat fitted recently & have been having problems with it. Tonight the Snipe control panel completely lost power.

    Sounds like a fuse-anyone any idea where the fridge fuse might be?

    Time for a hunt through the manual in daylight I reckon, & maybe a trip to a dealer.
     
  2. joncris

    joncris Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Where it matters
    We also have a Thetford Fridge so remove the outside small plastic panel that's adjacent to the fridge then remove the fuse wait a minute or so then put fuse back. You should then find its working.

    Apparently its a well known problem which may or may not happen again
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. DrRogerRam

    DrRogerRam Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    Thanks, I'll check it when it gets a bit warmer later & I can disconnect the hook up-seems wise! Sharp frost last night.
     
  4. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,261
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Location:
    West Norfolk
    Might be best to check the fuses on the Electrobloc, which I assume is what your Hymer has.
    The chances are that the satellite system was connected to a circuit which wasn't capable of taking the extra load, hence the blown fuse and no satellite or fridge!
    Has anything else stopped working?
     
  5. DrRogerRam

    DrRogerRam Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    Hi,
    Checked the fuses on the Electrobloc & everything OK.

    BIG however, now the door steps & the inside lights don't work & neither does the Truma for heating & hot water! Mains power is OK for the kettle & the fan heater, thank God. The vehicle will start but with a buzzing from the hab step that won't retract.

    I wonder if there's some sort of trip switch for the Electrobloc
     
  6. s20hymer

    s20hymer Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    hya try switching 12v off and leaving 30sec and then switch on and it might reset system good luck
     
  7. DrRogerRam

    DrRogerRam Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    Thanks, there seems to be no 12v supply at the moment so I'm not sure how I can turn it off? I've tried the mains power trip switches that work, but don't affect the 12v system.

    There was tap water but now that has gone as well. Do have an amber light under the passenger seat that says "Volladen' that means 'to load up'.

    Yippee, above the door there is a diagram of the Hymer where there were no indicators of battery power, fresh & waste water-just pressed the on/off button & everything has sprung back to life! We now have steps, lights, water, heating=everything that matters.

    Amber Volladen light is still on & fridge/freezer & satellite control panel are still not working.

    So double thanks s20 for your suggestion,

    Roger

    :D
     
  8. DrRogerRam

    DrRogerRam Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    Hi, no power to Thetford fridge-freezer or Snipe satellite.

    I've checked all the fuses in the Electrobloc & they're fine. Having checked the Hymer handbook there is apparently a fuse next to the van battery for the fridge-freezer. Excuse my total ignorance BUT is the van battery & hopefully the blown fuse underneath the plastic cover in the middle between the van seats, secured by plastic bolts needing probably a 50p piece to open them?

    Is replacing the fuse a job for a professional?

    Apologies for my daft questions-I have no expertise here & tend to pay professionals that I may well do tomorrow.

    Thanks,

    Roger
     
  9. DrRogerRam

    DrRogerRam Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Gironde, France
    As an update-the fridge-freezer fuse in the Electrobloc had gone. It looked OK but when Nathan at Peterborough Motorhomes checked it with his multimeter there was a tiny crack in the fuse & that was the problem. The sat had been wired in via a 5amp fuse to the fridge-freezer that was protected by a 3 amp fuse & that had caused the problem.

    My education is sadly lacking in electrical matters :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page