Free Member
Jan 29, 2012
cheshire
Funster No
MH
A Class
Exp
I'm a newbie
A Massive thank you to everyone who has given advice on my generator problems this weekLink Removed

I finally got the bl***y thing going this afternoon.

To cut a very long story short, I printed off everyones advice from here and RVOC and set off to the RV. I patiently went through all the points but still no luck (No voltage at the genny at all). Then went back and tried everything again but still nothing.

I then resorted to my plan "B", hitting the ground with a large stick for 5 minutes in the style of Basil Fawlty, while shouting all manner of profanitiesLink Removed

Incredibly, that didn't work either. So before leaving defeated, I went back to the house battery and removed the battery leads one last time to make sure the terminals were spotless. As I was using some wire wool on the positive terminal from the generator, it came away in my hand with a couple of inches of cable.

Not sure how the cable became broke but the outer sleeve must have been holding it in place and I disturbed it when I took off the old batteries.

Got under the RV and removed the whole cable (About 3m), took the lot to a local garage and they made a new one up for £20 and threw in cable ties.

It took me about 20 minutes to fit and the Generator started first timeLink Removed

JJ

Mágica
May 1, 2008
Quinta Majay, Pinheiro Bordalo, Portugal
Funster No
MH
Burstner Privilege T
Exp
over 50 years
Excellent news... I am really pleased for you...

Not only do you now have a working generator but you also have all that accumulated knowledge that will serve you in good stead in the future...

Well done...

JJ :Cool:

ps... my Hymer loo is not holding water again (and thus not forming an air tight seal from the holding tank)...

Last time this happened I spent over a hundred pounds on a new part and stripped the loo out to fit it...