The cost of ferry crossings. How do we save.... (2 Viewers)

Charlie

Free Member
May 16, 2015
Herefordshire / Worcestershire borders .
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleeper Kemerton.
Exp
Im a newbie
Hope this will benefit us all.

OK as a newbie to the MH caper I'm a little surprised at the expense of some crossings over the water to Europe.
We just did Plymouth to Roscoff and it cost us £410 return

I know there is a membership where we can pay and get a discount of 20 percent but that restricts us I believe to France only. We are heading to Spain after Christmas and would prefer not to have to drive all the way down through France to get there and take the ferry to Bilbao or Santander.

I understand some buy very early IE book now for next years tickets. Tips on how and where to do this would be massively appreciated !

I also keep hearing about Tesco vouchers ? Again any info appreciated as we don't shop at Tesco ..

Basically I'm looking for any information on how to get the crossings at best prices.

I bet there are a few newbies like me who will also gain from this thread.

As always a Thanks !!!

Jun 22, 2012
Ebbw Vale Gwent
Funster No
MH
Rapido 9048df A class
Exp
seven
Hi Charlie

The only way is to book using a discount code if you can fine one, but they not easy to fined, the other way is to plan and book well in advance or use a more popular route like Calais or Dunkirk, Brittany ferries are always expensive.
If however you do not like driving then it my be worth it to you, but if you want a cheap ferry I’m afraid it’s Dover to Calais or Dunkirk.

Regards
Ray

Reactions: DBK
Jun 22, 2012
Sherborne Dorset
Funster No
MH
Van Conversion
Exp
Since 2012
Matamoros kindly let us use his code for spain but from november to march the discount was5%, he did check with them and that is what he was told. I dont know if this is new.