The Camping Map

Discussion in 'Continental Touring' started by scotjimland, Nov 30, 2009.

  1. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Just in case you missed this link which was posted on another thread..
    probably the most comprehensive European camp site map on Google .. :thumb:

    TheCampingMap.com

    jim
     
  2. wayfarer

    wayfarer Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Co. Clare. Ireland
    Nice one Jim. Thanks
     
  3. ralph-dot

    ralph-dot Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Billingham
    It is very good (I can see some missing) but I sill have to find one where all of the positions are correct.
     
  4. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Jim I checked this when I first saw it on the "other site" most of the Europeons ones that I know are wrong :Sad: take Lisbon they have camping Lisbon in TWO places, and the other site they show in the centre doesn't exist. Quateria is up the road in Fonte Santa, La Bein Assise near Calais is on the wrong side of the village. I could go on.

    Olley
     
  5. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Olley..

    I've only checked a few which I found ok .. however
    there is a facility to correct or submit data .. :Wink:

    TheCampingMap.com
     
  6. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Jim "Change" facility requires a "backlink" to the site, so is intended for site owners to change their details. On a more positive note, most of the UK ones that I know off appear good.

    Olley
     
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  7. Jarkin

    Jarkin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Thank you for the link

    I keep seeing these Google maps with POI's on them which are great, but can someone explain how to use them when traverling, especially in Europe only the internet fees for the most part seem very expensive unless you can find a free wifi connection.

    How do people use them when traverling
     
  8. derekfaeberwick

    derekfaeberwick Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,131
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Berwick
    Either transfer them to a map or a sat nav when you have an internet connection.
     
  9. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    As Derek suggested, but that's labour intensive.. and ok if you have a planned route ..

    For the Google map in my signature you can download the POIs from here:
    MotorhomeFun - Downloads - Aires and Sites RV suitable

    I have emailed Camping Map asking if they can provide POIs for sat nav.. if they do I will upload to the download section ..

    jim
     
  10. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    Think the only way you can access a website off line and navigate would be to use a website cloning software click here

    would be a big file though
     
  11. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,717
    Likes Received:
    2,117
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi using cloning software will get you banned from some sites.

    Olley
     
  12. Jarkin

    Jarkin Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Thank you for the replies,

    Its probably me but if i understand it correctly are you saying that you plan the route using google maps with the POI's you are interested in so you can view the actual places and then copy the POI's over to your sat-nav and re-plot the same route now having viewed the ones you want to go to.

    I use autoroute most of the time and that has a link directly to I believe maps live or some other Microsoft live maps, will that work the same if i copy the POI's over to autoroute, obviously i can only link back to Microsoft maps live if I have a Internet connection.

    Can someone tell me if i have it basically correct or not, as i am having difficulty getting my head around this.

    Thank you
     
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi

    That is basically correct, there is a nifty piece of software that does this..

    Tyre

    jim
     
Loading...

Share This Page