Feb 12, 2016
Bournemouth
Funster No
MH
Roller Team 590
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi All,

i have just bought my first motorhome. It's a RollerTeam 590 and so far I am very pleased with it . The only downside is driving it. I thought we would have a run to the New Forest as it is only up the road from Bournemouth. How on earth do you drive these things? Despite my best efforts I managed to whack one of my mirror on a bush and then the caught the roof with overhanging branches despite being in the middle of the road. The edge of the road and the white lines in the middle looked to be a about 1 inch from my wing mirrors which doesn't leave much scope for error. Feeling a bit worried.

Cheers

Boyd

Ps I have driven a Motorhome before but don't remember it being so difficult.

Langtoftlad

LIFE MEMBER
Apr 12, 2011
Langtoft, South Lincs
Funster No
MH
WildAx Aurora FB [PVC]
Exp
Since 2015
Find a bigger wider road :D.
Fairly new to it myself, just have to be a bit more size aware.
Best bit of advice was look out for bus stops or wheelie bins because if buses or bin lorries get there, so can you (y).
On last week's trip to Hampshire, I managed to find my way (thanks SatNav) down a little lane marked 6'6" except for access... Well I needed access to get where I was going :rolleyes:.
All good with a little breathing in ;).

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Zilevets

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 19, 2015
West Yorkshire
Funster No
MH
Hymer B704 A Class P/Line
Exp
Hello and welcome you will get used to it again I'm sure, narrow roads are a challenge!

Liz

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
There are some very narrow roads in the New Forest, I suggest staying away until you are more confident!

Try visiting a supermarket when it is shut and practice reversing in their car park. If you go on narrow roads you will need this skill! :)

Anthea M

Free Member
Deceased RIP
Oct 18, 2015
Sheffield
Funster No
MH
Hobby
Exp
Since 2009