Tethering with Tesco.

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Daveo2006, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. Daveo2006

    Daveo2006 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    986
    Location:
    kent
    I am cancelling my contract with Orange soon after being with them for around 15 years or more due to the fact they rob me blind and i get promised something by someone in Asia and it does,t get honoured . I intend on getting a sim only contract for £10 a month which gives me 1gb of data for when we are away in MH.What i find bizarre is that i have just bought the new Ipad to take away with us instead of the wifes laptop and thought i would go all out and buy an Iphone 5 so all my bits are compatible i.e. iPad , Apple mac and iPhone.However the assistant tells me that you cant tether with Tesco sim with an iPhone.:Eeek: but it will work fine with my HTC. WHY?:Doh:
     
  2. steveclecy

    steveclecy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    581
    Location:
    Wirral
    Because the OS in the iPhone feeds a message back to the ISP that it is being tethered. If the ISP permits that, fine, if not they will find out.

    Android based phones do not send any message back.

    Steve
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,499
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    I haven't had a problem with Orange that a good kicking off on 150 couldn't sort out :Rofl1:
    I have 1gb with tethering on my contract and no problems.
    Orange has just increased it's £3 daily data roaming (EU) from 30mb to 100mb that is pretty good and if you exceed 100mb it just starts another £3 bundle up to 10 times in any 24hrs
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2013
  4. yorkieman

    yorkieman Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    254
    Location:
    Yorkshire (nr. Leeds)
    And I understand the iPhone's 4g won't work on the 4G network that O2 are rolling out round the country either. Apparently, it isn't compatible.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
    have a look at giffgaff which runs on o2 network
    the same as tesco

    :thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  6. peterc10

    peterc10 Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,200
    Likes Received:
    2,281
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Giff gaff can't tether with the iphone either. It has nothing to do with them, just Apple being Apple. "If you don't sell our expensive phones we won't let you tether".

    You can tether with all Android phones with Giff Gaff. Having said that only the £10 goodybag (with 1GB) will let you tether. All the more expensive ones are unlimited data, but no tethering.

    I am just about to change over to Giff Gaff when my O2 contract runs out next week. Don't want another phone until all the networks offer 4G and the price for it comes down. Then may update my phone. I am only a light user and it is touch and go whether I will need the £10 Goodybag or stick with PAYG.
     
  7. sdc77

    sdc77 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2,480
    Likes Received:
    2,887
    Location:
    East london
    ... Re that roaming data tariff
    Vodafone do £3 per day that you use the phone.. And on those days you get your normal UK talk plan.. Calls txt data..
    Roll on the end to roaming
     
  8. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,137
    Likes Received:
    7,713
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    I have a strange one for you, I have a Nokia phone on O2 it hasn't got tethering built in but I have downloaded an app for it called joikuspot you will find it on google, well I can connect iPad through it ,no probs but not android , Julie has a Samsung and that will connect to both on the same O2 . Btw don't know if its common knowledge but you can use your normal data allowence in Europe for £1.99 aday if you tell them
     
Loading...

Share This Page