Tell me your experience of going alone

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Mimi, Aug 5, 2014.

1. Mimi

Mimi Funster

Hello,

I am new to this website and would like to know of other motorhome users who have been in the same situation.

Now finding myself single again (long story) I would seriously like to buy a motorhome. Previously we (the past tense) had a caravan for many years and the changed to a motorhome, I absolutely loved motorhoming. I am a female and I would love to own an Autocruise Starburst, this is one we owned previously.

I have looked on the Caravan Club site for motorhome courses and found that it's a chicken and egg situation, you have to go to the course in your motorhome.

I have been driving for many years on motorways so I do not find that a problem, my worry is will I be able to drive a motorhome with confidence?

Thanks for reading my post. I look forward to the replies.

2. MikeD

MikeD Funster

3. Mimi

Mimi Funster

Thank you Mike, I have saved the link. Still need to get the motorhome first.
    Regards

4. tambo

tambo Read Only Funster

I think you'll be fine it's just a confidence thing , my mother only passed her test at age 55 and vowed she would never drive anything bigger than her Nissan micra and rarely drove outside our local town

My mum and dad had motorhomes for over 10 years sadly my dad passed away a few years after my mum started driving and she was left with the choice of stopping motor homing or drive it herself ..she thankfully took the second option and drove a 26 ft van for years after and at age 71 she still takes turns driving my sisters liaka when they're touring :)

Long winded story lol but I think once you get used to it you'll be fine

• Like Like x 4
  5. hilldweller

hilldweller Funster Life Member

No problem, if you can drive a car you can drive a MH.

Don't be silly and pick the Lakes for you first journey, build your confidence on normal roads.

Go hire a big van if you want a try.