Technika TV from Tesco Direct

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by keith, Aug 1, 2011.

  1. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    If anyone is looking to buy a TV for the MH, these are currently offering a very good deal.

    Tesco Direct TV's

    The small one is only 1.5kg ideal for small vans, no DVD though.

    There are other models with DVD that weigh slightly more.
     
  2. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,260
    Likes Received:
    34,539
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    We've had a Technika TV for about 2 and a half years and bought my Mum one about 21 months ago. Very good performance.

    The only minus point for me for use in a van is that they are mains only.
     
  3. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,351
    Likes Received:
    21,736
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Considering they are supposed to be a budget make, I have always hadf great success with all things Technika :thumb:
    And they look like an ideal option to me but might be worth checking the current draw.. Often such units are hard on the batteries !

    Actualllllyyyyyyy.. Looks like these are mains input only ? So would have to use an inverter so a fairly big draw indeed :Sad:
    70w at 220v is good for mains at a tad over 3 amps, but to run it via an inverter on your batteries .. somewhere around 8 to 12 amps per hour ( totally off the top of my head .. canna be twitched to get the calculator out LOL !! )
     
  4. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Yes they are mains only, I should have said that, but the one I got is only 20W (no DVD) so will run off my 150W inverter OK. I suppose it's all down to how much TV you (or HID :hardhat:) have to watch. :Wink:

    The small one it is replacing was 18W so not much difference for me.
     
  5. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,351
    Likes Received:
    21,736
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ahh.. Perfik as they say ! :BigGrin:
     
  6. DBSilverfox

    DBSilverfox Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Isn't that 0.3 Amps...?

    David
     
  7. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,351
    Likes Received:
    21,736
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Yep.. brain fade yet again !!!!!!!! LOL !
    I even sat here thinking ( for speed ) 60w light bulb is a 1/4 amp so .3amps is about right.. then proceeded to type in something completely bloody different ! :Doh:

    Thanks for the correction good sir :thumb:
     
  8. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    3,214
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    At 20w would only be about 2amps from batteries running through the inverter. A bit more than my 12v one (1amp) but not worth getting worried about.:thumb:
     
Loading...

Share This Page