Table repair to laminate surface (1 Viewer)

Feb 13, 2017
Newcastle
Funster No
MH
2007 N-B Arto 69 EGB
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi.

I am wanting to get a table resurfaced because it has a big dent in it where it looks like something has been dropped on it. Fortunately it is easy to get the table out.

The finish is some kind of laminate. Who would I get to do this? Is this something that any joiner would do?

Thanks for any help you can give,

Andy Bramhall
Newcastle, UK

Minxy

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 22, 2007
E Yorks
Funster No
MH
Carthago Compactline
Exp
Since 1996, had Elddis/Swift/Rapido/Rimor/Chausson MHs. Autocruise/Globecar PVCs/Compactline i-138
No reason why a competent joiner, or ideally cabinet maker, couldn't do this for you, in layman's terms its a matter of finding a piece of laminate to suit your interior, or as close a match as you want, then filling the existing hold, preparing the surface and sticking the laminate on. Depending on the thickness it can either be cut to size before it is stuck on or trimmed afterwards, then the edges just need finishing/smoothing etc.

Dave K

Free Member
Mar 24, 2015
Somerset
Funster No
MH
Pilote P740C
Exp
Since 2013
Depending on your diy skills there's no reason you couldn't do this yourself, shopfitting joinery workshops will use laminates, I had a stack of offcuts when I had my workshop, if they can cut a piece roughly to size for you then it just needs adhering with contact adhesive, spread onto both surfaces, allow to dry and then bond together, you can buy a trim cutter that would go into a small router which has a bearing that will follow the edge of the table so it will trim it off flush.
If you don't feel comfortable doing it then just find a local shopfiiting firm, if they manufacture their own stuff they'll have the necessary kit to do it for you.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

icantremember

LIFE MEMBER
Sep 2, 2010
Near to Watton in Norfolk
Funster No
MH
Hymer T-SL668
Exp
since 2005