Switched live under the bonnet . (1 Viewer)

friar tuck

Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
Hi.im trying to fit a pair of daytime led's to my 2010 ducato.has anyone done this and if so where did you get a switched live from?
Being led they are very low power but as I understand if I tap into something I may trigger off the can bus warning system.only place I can think of is the cigarette lighter feed but have no clue of the wire colours.
Thanks in advance
The Friar.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Cheap ebay offering ?

Not simply a case of finding a switched live, DRLs should switch OFF when vehicle lights are turned ON.
Easy enough to install a relay though.
DRLs have no beam pattern and simply scatter light.
They are too bright and dazzling for night time use.

.GOV website extract...

General requirements
Legislation and requirements:

DRL activate automatically when the engine is started and remain on unless the headlamps are switched on.

Last edited:
OP
OP
friar tuck

friar tuck

Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
Thanks for the guidance.so I need a switched live and a headlight live.no worries with the relay got some kicking around here some where.
Yes good old flea bay.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Best location will be the fuse box.
Harder to get to but no problem with canbus system....the fuses should all be outside the canbus system so no I'll effects.
Probe each fuse, ign off, with a multimeter and find the dead ones then ign on and find any which become live.
The light switch will activate and turn OFF a normally closed relay cutting the DRLs when lights turned on.

Try the lights on a battery first.
I bought a pair (eBay) which were barely visible at night....in the bin they went.

OP
OP
friar tuck