Swift sundance 530 LP Newbie needing advice (1 Viewer)

Sheila.m

Free Member
Nov 13, 2016
Edinburgh
Funster No
MH
Don't own one yet
Exp
I'm a newbie
Buying my very first motor home and have fallen in love with a swift sundance 530model. It is 7 years old with 20000 miles on the clock, no smell of damp but to be honest I don't really know how to check for that. It costs 27 795 from a reputable dealer knowepark caravans in edinburgh. I would appreciate advice . I want to use in Britain - mainly in the wester isles in Scotland - in basic campsites- but only for a limited number of days at a time.

Ambilkate

LIFE MEMBER
Jul 15, 2009
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
HYMER 654
Exp
since 2006
Hi and welcome to Fun we had a swift iSundance 630 g not sure on sure model you are looking at but there is loads of info on here regarding Swift . We know there was a problem with water ingress with the floors via the skirts on some models check in all cuboards use a damp meter with you . Check all heating and appliances and water pump . Check all electrics on 12 v and on electric . We had ours for 10 years from new had no ,major problems only the weight had to have it upgraded with air assist up to 4.1 .
Regards Kate X

Upvote 0

MikeD

Free Member
Dec 21, 2011
London
Funster No
MH
IH PVC
Exp
Since 2012
Hi and welcome to the Fun.

Your swift should come with a history file showing engine servicing and as important for you is a history of its "habitation" checks.

These should show what checks have been made regarding electrics, Gas and damp checks.

There should be a line drawing of the motorhome and numbers written by all joints like windows, floors and sides.

All the numbers should read less than 20. Any more than that you may well have had or still have a damp problem.

Get their fitter to go around the van with his meter (if you don't have one) and get him to show you what he finds.

They should look something like below

View media item 21146
View media item 21145