Stove Ignition not working

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Kiwi Coss, May 17, 2016.

  1. Kiwi Coss

    Kiwi Coss Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Our ignition on our stove has stopped working. It happened after we came back after a long break.
    Is there a fuse or does it have a separate battery feed?
    The motorhome is a Swift Sundance 2006. Stove is a Thetford.
    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Colin Cossey
     
  2. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,725
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    What electrical system is fitted ( Sargent etc etc ? )
    And in what MH is it ?
     
  3. Kiwi Coss

    Kiwi Coss Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Don't know what electrical system is fitted. We wild camp all the time so only use 12v from the leisure batteries.
    Ignition system to the fridge to ignite the gas works OK. so I am thinking the stove is on a separate supply. It is a Swift Sundance year 2006. Stove is a Theford.
     
  4. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,464
    Likes Received:
    25,158
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Use a match.
     
  5. Kiwi Coss

    Kiwi Coss Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Been doing that but you know what the other halves are like they want everything working. Also after the gas explosion in the MH a few years back she is reluctant to ignite the oven part and I would like a roast now and then. She is happy to use the gas lighter on the top so I can get a cuppa tea. Would like to get it fixed as I don't want her having a reason to stop all cooking.
     
  6. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,464
    Likes Received:
    25,158
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Just ignore me, I'm jealous, we don't have electric ignition. You have my sympathy, other halves take some getting used to, I'm still trying 50 years on.
     
  7. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,725
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ahh.. Its a Swift and has a Sargent system fitted
    have a look around and see if you can see a gray box ( often under a seat ) with some fuses in it.. The wire that feeds the cooker ignition ends up in there ( at least it does on my set up )
    I cannot remember if there is a fuse on the circuit but THINK there might be.

    My feed wire actually went faulty in the loom somewhere so a separate thin wire was run to a switched 12v line in the box.
     
  8. Bobby22

    Bobby22 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3,181
    Location:
    Scotland
    Make sure you are switched on at the wall. ( maybe above door) i' m sure my cooker works on a different circuit.

    When i travel it shuts the system down and needs to be switched on again, before my cooker water pump and toilet flush and cabin lights

    I can keep the tv/dvd and one light at belted seats on whilst moving.
     
  9. Kiwi Coss

    Kiwi Coss Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Thanks. Will check it out and see how I get on and let you know.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. Kiwi Coss

    Kiwi Coss Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Thanks but it dosen't have a separate supply like that. I have a switch above the door for the water pump, outside light, water level indicator, batt level indicator, and switch between vehicle and leisure batts.
    Thanks for the info.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Kiwi Coss

    Kiwi Coss Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ahhhh then I only have another 10 or so years to catch up. If you find the secret let me know....Ha ha
     
  12. Bobby22

    Bobby22 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3,181
    Location:
    Scotland
    If that main switch isn't on then my igniter won't spark.
     
  13. Graham and Jane

    Graham and Jane Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    287
    Likes Received:
    270
    Location:
    Grangemouth
    We have a 2007 sundance and as long as main panel is on it works. Sorry cant be more help
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. Bobby22

    Bobby22 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3,181
    Location:
    Scotland
  15. DanielFord

    DanielFord Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    2,497
    Location:
    Surrey
    We have a 2011 sundance, the igniter will not work if the power on the control panel is off. Also, there is a supply switch at the bottom back in the narrow cupboard, check you haven't knocked into the off position.
    There is a possibility that the igniter on the older model is of the type with a battery. If this is the case, unscrew the igniter button, there will be a battery behind it.
     
  16. Kiwi Coss

    Kiwi Coss Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Thanks Will check it out
     
  17. Kiwi Coss

    Kiwi Coss Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    635
    Location:
    New Zealand
  18. Feltwell

    Feltwell Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Shropshire
    On our oven occasionally the spark igniter stops working. A quick rub of the end of the electrodes with my thumb and it comes back into life! I keep meaning to give the electrodes a quick gentle clean with a bit of fine emery cloth at home, I keep forgetting, might even go and do it tonight now that I've remembered.....

    The position of them seems to make them vulnerable to getting mucky.
     
Loading...

Share This Page