Step Not Working Automatically

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Rob e Lee, Dec 14, 2012.

  1. Rob e Lee

    Rob e Lee Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Surrey
    Hi, just wondering if anyones got any ideas as to why my entrance step has ceased to retract when starting engine? I can make it work by operating switch near entrance.

    Rob
     
  2. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi Rob, probably crud on part of the switching system -strip down the step and clean all the muck off and reasemble.:thumb:I know you say it still works on the other switch but they are renowned for getting mucked up
    terry
     
  3. dave newell lvs

    dave newell lvs Trader-Vehicle Services

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    3,318
    Location:
    Telford, Shropshire
    Two possibilites Rob, blown fuse on the engine running signal or a manky "step open" switch, this is the simple pin switch mounted on the step itself. They get grotty 'cos they're relatively unprotected and then the earth path is missing for the auto retract.

    D.
     
  4. jonandshell

    jonandshell Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,261
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    Location:
    West Norfolk
    Just check the limit switch on the step for a start.:thumb:

    If not, a skilled man such as yourself should be able to suss the Elddis wiring diagram supplied with the van!:Smile:
     
  5. Rob e Lee

    Rob e Lee Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2012
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    510
    Location:
    Surrey
    I could :RollEyes: but erring on the lazy side and also not having a wiring diagram - thought I'd ask you knowlegable lot - have found in the past using this invaluable forum can speed up in fault finding the problem.

    Rob
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. tankintugger

    tankintugger Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Travelling Europe
    Hi Rob if its none of the above have you got a sargeant unit in the van? if so there is a fuse on the electronics board which can be replaced, I had to do mine, it messed about then totally failed after a while, if yours is in warrantee then obviously get it done via your dealer. if not call sergeants for a quote as you can ruin the board by over heating.
     
  7. Bluemooner

    Bluemooner Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,233
    Likes Received:
    1,666
    Location:
    Ribble Valley
    Reading this with interest mine has gone back to the dealers for this problem and while i was showing them it worked and once home it stopped working:RollEyes:
     
  8. jb0371

    jb0371 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    402
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I had the same fault, eventually fault was traced to the switch on the step itself, it just pulls out spray up with wd40 ect and actuate a few dozen times then push back in, well thats what Jon (jonandshell) did I was just watching drinking beer, well you dont get a dog and bark yourself:Laughing:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
Loading...

Share This Page