Mar 18, 2015
Shropshire
Funster No
MH
Knaus Sky Ti
Exp
Almost a year
Hello everyone,
I am very new to motorhoming - 9 weeks and counting.
My name is Ken and my wife is carol.
So far we have toured the UK for 9 weeks and have just returned from Cornwall - a truly lovely place.
I have one problem and would really appreciate any advice.
My motorhome is a Knaus Sky Ti on a Fiat Ducato 130 chassis.
It is two years old and 'as new' in every respect.
I bought from a lovely couple who advertised it on this forum.
My problem is in driving it on motorways.
The steering is extremely light and I have to really concentrate on keeping it in a straight line.
On the M5 this morning, on some stretches of concreted motorway it was drifting all over the place and I had to reduce speed to 45 mph just to have any control.
I can never go above 60 mph because it seems so unstable.
Any help or advice, please, would be very welcome.

pappajohn

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 26, 2007
Dark side of the moon
Funster No
Exp
Since 2005
Some motorways, usually those with poor or overdue maintenance, are badly rutted by HGV's.
Their wheel track is obviously wider than that of a light commercial chassis so you tend to hop from one rut to the other which gives the impression of instability.
Try driving closer to the shoulder or lane dividing lines to get away from the ruts and see if that helps.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

gozomike

Funster Life Member
LIFE MEMBER
Mar 16, 2010
Warwickshire - sometimes - but not often
Funster No
MH
Wildax Constellation
Exp
Since August 2008
My first check would be the tyre pressures. Also is there any free movement turning the steering wheel gently where the road wheels do not turn sideways.

DBK

LIFE MEMBER
Jan 9, 2013
Plympton, Devon
Funster No
MH
PVC, Murvi Morocco
Exp
Could be tracking, ie toe in/out but as suggested take it to a garage. Although only two years old it might have hit a pothole or curb and bent something.

OP
OP
K

Kensmith314

Free Member