Status Aerial

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Sundowners, Sep 21, 2008.

  1. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk
    We have purchased a new TV/DVD Digital - mainly because of the problems we have had with the green picture when playing DVD (only). Where we are living/camping the signal is quite poor so we can't receive digital and we have been told if we purchased a Status Aerial we should be able to alleviate this problem.

    The question we are asking, is it possible to attach this to the american aerial we have on our fifth wheel, as we do not want to make more holes in the roof than necessary?

    Also what model Status as we have seen 530/5 & 530/10. If we can attach it as mentioned above, can we buy it without the mast?

    All information much appreciated.

    Nigel and Pamala
     
  2. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Rochester
    I researched this and it seemed the only way is a conventional high gain aerial if the signal is poor. It don't look pretty but does the job for sure. Failing that do what I did and fit a sat dish.
     
  3. adventure

    adventure Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    somerset
    Hi

    Have a look on grade uk's web site because they have a range of aerials some which will fit onto your mast with a small modification and will recieve digital signals for your tv.

    gradeuk.co.uk

    nick
     
  4. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Hi Nigel and Pamala,

    We were having major problems with freeview and digital transmissions, so just before out last time out, bought one of these.

    New EL05 Caravan/Motorhome,Lorry W/B Digital TV Aerial. on eBay, also, Accessories, Campers, Caravans Motorhomes, Cars, Parts Vehicles (end time 26-Sep-08 21:00:00 BST)

    Arrived the next day, even though I ordered it in the afternoon, and absolutely delighted with it.

    Stuck ours onto the window above the cab and worked perfectly.

    Cheap enough to give one a try anyway.:thumb:

    Steve.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2008
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,461
    Likes Received:
    16,889
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    hi,

    the difference between the 530/5 and 530/10 is the number of elements....10 element being better for poorer signal areas but larger in length.
    you would normally buy the aerial without the mast anyway, the mast being an extra item.

    as diabalo said...fit a sat dish, no weak signal and no atmospheric interferance.
     
  6. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk
    thanks for the help guys, maybe we will not bother with an aerial. We do have a dish on a tripod, but since we moved into the 5er have not had time to play with it!!!
    Pamala & Nigel
     
  7. camcondor

    camcondor Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    East Midlands
    We found the Status 530/5 on our previous motorhome fairly useless except in good signal areas. On the Adria, we had a Camos dome sat fitted which is really easy to use, but have found the old "no signal" problem pops up on various sites, esp as we like to be near some shade!! As a standby, I keep a mast and a standard digital-compatible aerial tucked in the garage of the MH. Not pretty but it works!! Also have a long length of co-ax (10m) in case sites have aerial points on their "super" pitches.
     
Loading...

Share This Page