Spyware help

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Gooney, Oct 2, 2012.

  1. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,771
    Location:
    Flintshire
    I entered a site last week that was given to me where you could watch unlimited football, when i did i was bombarded with loads of adverts and the upshot is I appear to have inherited some Adware, Namely Babylon.Toolbar, I've done a search on this and the recommendation is to download 'Spybot Search and Destroy' to get shut of it, fair enough I've done this, run the application and it has recognized Babylon as something that it would be wise not to have on my PC, I've pressed the button to get shut of it but it comes back as saying I don't have administering rights to delete it. It's my PC and I am the administer so where do I go from here? Grommet, Scotchjim, Help Please:Doh:
     
  2. rainbow chasers

    rainbow chasers Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,747
    Likes Received:
    1,720
    Location:
    Mid Cornwall
    Toolbar should be in the programs menu.

    Go to COMPUTER > ADMINISTRATIVE TOOLS > PROGRAMS > INSTALL/UNINSTALL LIST.

    Scan down, right click and uninstall.

    If you don't have a antivirus, you may have window defender, or can download it free from microsoft.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    N.somerset
    first thing is you,ll get owt for nowt on the internet so get rid of spybot.
    Go to add remove programs and uninstall spybot and then babylon toolbar,you may have to press F8 on startup to go into safe mode for this.
    You also have to go into Internet explorer options and change the homepage from babylon to your usual one, e.g google.do the same if you,re using firefox.remove any babylon add-ons.
    Follow instructions from here and you hopefully will get rid:
    [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nVJa1K_yvco[/ame]
    best of luck.
    If all else fails backup you,re docs.pics ,favourites etc,then wipe the system and re-install,its quicker sometimes.then get a good piece of system protection software with real time protection.
    best of luck.pete
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. cbrookson

    cbrookson Funster

    Joined:
    May 5, 2011
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    120
    Location:
    Suffolk
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,900
    Likes Received:
    13,916
    Location:
    UK
    Spybot Search and Destroy used to be a fantastic bit of software. I still use it now and again to clean up friends and family PC's that have visited dodgy sites.
    It has always been an excellent bit of software for getting rid of unwanted software that is not actually a virus or worm.

    To run it as administrator check out these instructions straight from MS.
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/ff431742.aspx

    The spybot entry for the Babylon Toolbar can be found here.

    http://forums.spybot.info/showthread.php?t=61869
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,771
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Thanks for that but I,d already deleted Babylon from there but the tab is still on my search page
     
  7. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,771
    Location:
    Flintshire

    Hi Grommet
    I installed spy bot and followed your link for admin rights, ran the programme and it fetched up Babylon and a couple more bits of adware, pressed the fix button and it cleared the other couple but Babylon is still there, it says it might be still running in memory, I gave it permission to run on start up but it still didn't clear, do I do what left legger suggests and clear my system?
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi .. just caught up with this thread.. we all get caught occasionally with an unwanted toolbar or other trash program.. just using the windows unistaller won't remove fully, it leaves unwanted files and folders and registry entries..

    to fully remove any program I use Revo Uninstaller..

    Been using this for many years, and yes it's FREE .. you don't need to upgrade to pro..

    I also agree with Karl, spy bot and malwarebytes are excellent tools ..

    another excellent tool for cleaning up is CCleaner
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,771
    Location:
    Flintshire
    thanks for info Jim, I've tried CC Cleaner but still got Babylon, I'll try Revo tonight but for now I'm going out, I've had enough:Doh:
     
  10. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    don't blame you .. :Laughing:

    Revo will get rid of it.. any questions about how to use just shout out .. or PM me...
     
  11. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    Thanks for that, I just downloaded that and I had babylon on my IE toolbar without me realizing it as I have been using chrome for ages I soon got rid, took about one minute,
    This forum is truly great.
    I also use CCcleaner, thats great too.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Rochester
    The Babylon tool bar is notoriously difficult to remove, you think you have got rid only for it to re-appear, sometimes the only way to get it completly removed is to go into the registry and remove every reference to it, but you need to be confident in using regedit, if not leave well alone.
     
  13. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,900
    Likes Received:
    13,916
    Location:
    UK
    Ccleaner is good as well. I have only had to use it once in the past.

    Because I am computer literate I prefer not to use these tools and do things manually. I understand things like the registry etc so hunting down unwanted tool bars is usually fairly straight forward for me. I usually only get caught out once ever year or two.

    However when asked to look at my nephews and other family members computers they have so much junk installed I tend to use spybot to clear the vast majority of the junk and then pick over the remains manually.

    If things like this happen to you regularly it may be worth learning a bit about how to use boolean searches on google and searching for the manual methods to remove these things. It can be a bit time consuming the first few times but you will get quicker at it and then won't have the panic when it does happen. It also means you won't need to install all this extra malware software which uses resources and slows your computer down.

    The biggest tip I could recommend is using Adblock Plus and NoScript. Along with installing this hosts file. http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm

    Obviously this won't help with software installers that install these bloody irritating tool bars but it will reduce the malware on your computer installed by websites.
     
  14. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,771
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Grrrrrrrrr,
    I've run Spybot S&D, that found Babylon but wouldn't let me delete it, I loaded Revo but that didn't find it, I ran Spybot from start up, again it didn't delete it but the next time I ran Spybot it didn't find Babylon, I let it run its full course and it came up with a message at the the 'Congratulations all clear'. I opened Google chrome again and the tab was still there 'Babylon Search' I searched all through the Files and Folders on 'C' could not find any trace anywhere but did find Google Tool Bar so I deleted that, Bingo opened up Chrome and there was a basic Chrome page with no Babylon tabs, I then synced with Chrome and the tool bar came back WITH THE BABYLON SEARCH TAB.... Spybot can't find it now, where is the tinker hiding!!! once again Help please:Doh::Doh:
     
  15. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi .. got your pm

    I'm just about out of suggestions.. :Sad:
    looks like a Karl job..

    if not already tried.. Go to Chrome settings, then extensions and see if it's lurking there .. if so bin it
     
  16. Gromett

    Gromett Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,900
    Likes Received:
    13,916
    Location:
    UK
    Would love to help unfortunately I am a hands on type. Not very good at it if I can't put my hands on the keyboard sorry. More a doer than a teacher :Doh::Sad:
     
  17. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Rochester
    It will be in the regitsry

    Open regedit
    click Edit
    Find
    Type in Babylon in the find what box
    Delete
    click F3 to find more
    delete until it finds no more
    close regedit

    Job done

    Happy Days


    But DON'T and I mean DON'T delete anything else
     
  18. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,771
    Location:
    Flintshire
    It's gone:thanks::thanks:
    Thanks everyone for all the suggestions, I blitzed the blighter with CC cleaner, Spybot, Revo and Regedit but the Babylon tabs still sat on top of the Chrome toolbar, I went back into the Toolbar settings and Google was the selected Search engine, but in the dropdown box Babylon was sitting in there, I think along the way it was Spybot that actually shifted it but for some reason it still kept appearing in chrome, anyway it's gone now and I've learnt a little more along the way.
    Thanks again:thumb:
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page