Sprinter Auto Box's

Discussion in 'Mercedes' started by Biggles, Sep 9, 2009.

  1. Biggles

    Biggles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Essex
    Hello

    I took a 312 with an auto box out for a test drive the other day. It was generall OK but did not go into top until I reached 60mph. Once there is was doing 60 at 3000 rpm. Is this normal? Bear in mind this is a 2.9 5 cylinder engine.

    FYI this was a base vehicle for home conversion project.
     
  2. ourcampersbeentrashed

    ourcampersbeentrashed Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7,652
    Likes Received:
    4,284
    Location:
    East London
    cant help but just wanted to say Welcome to motorhome fun xxxxxxxxxxx
     
  3. Biggles

    Biggles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Essex

    Many thanks for the welcome :Smile:
     
  4. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,527
    Likes Received:
    5,583
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    I assume you tried backing off the gas to make it drop into top gear earlier if you were gunning it that would keep it in the lower gear, if you did back off and it wouldn't change up, give it a miss.
    We are doing a Fiat fifth gear swop for a member next week, he wants a higher top end speed with lower revs, he was quoting 3000 rpm at 60mph and said it sounds harsh, other similar vans were only pulling 2500or less at 60.
    I don't know if such a conversion is viable or affordable in a Sprinter Auto I would think not
    Geo
     
  5. DESCO

    DESCO Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Likes Received:
    267
    Location:
    London
    That does sound like a report I read some time ago on the 312 auto box, sorry can't remember where.


    Oh by the way WELCOME to MH Fun


    Dave:thumb::thumb:
     
  6. davejen

    davejen Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    688
    Location:
    Kirkpatrick Fleming Dumfries
    Hi, Biggles, my mirage is based on the merc 412 -same 2.9 engine but it goes in top at 30MPH, it is automatic so I would be wary of that one. By the way it's not a K/M speedo is it ? as 60 km/hour is about 35mph. Might be worth checking!
    Welcome to the fun you'll find plenty help &advice on here.
    Cheers, Dave:thumb:
     
  7. Biggles

    Biggles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Essex
    I am sorry it was a 416 not a 316, but what's in a couple of wheels :RollEyes:

    The guy selling it reckoned it was normal for it, and has bills for a £3k bill for a rebuild last year. He said it was the old style that worked on vacuum, but that there was an electronic retro available.

    I drive an auto in my car and am used to it, but it is a modern 5 speed in a BMW so I suppose things have moved on a bit.

    It was a MPH speedo, and at 3000 rpm it was a tad wearing even on a short test drive.

    Maybe one to leave?
     
  8. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    I have a 316 with 5-speed auto and it is in top by around 35 - 40 mph (unless you have your foot down hard in which case it will hold for a bit longer).
    The engine in a 316 / 416 is a 2.7 litre 5-pot CDI, not a 2.9. Power is 160 bhp (156 rounded up) hence the *16 part of the numbering.

    The 416 has smaller wheels than the 316 (14" versus 15" I believe). This will make it rev higher for the same speed, but the auto should then shift up even earlier.

    Philip
     
  9. Biggles

    Biggles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Essex

    Hi Philip

    This was an old one on a T or Y plate so it was pre CDi

    Interesting about the wheel size. this could possibly be used to gear up the final drive if there is arch room?

    Biggles
     
Loading...

Share This Page