Spanish electricity

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by funflair, Feb 15, 2015.

  1. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,482
    Likes Received:
    4,732
    Location:
    Guisborough
    On a site in Spain with 6amps electric, don't know what the volts are but my suspicion is not a lot at times, it takes the microwave 3 1/2 minutes to do what it does in 2 off the inverter and the fridge on auto keeps going over to 12 volts off the solar or gas, I assume when the volts drop too low for it to recognise it as 240.
     
  2. andy63

    andy63 Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,848
    Likes Received:
    6,479
    Location:
    south shields
    Hi Martin thought it took the kettle longer to boil over here as well then thought it must just be my imagination.
    Ta andy
     
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,331
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    With the fridge dropping out I think it's a good indication of low voltage.
    A common issue for some when we were over in Morocco, you can get some sort of voltage stabaliser fitted.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,482
    Likes Received:
    4,732
    Location:
    Guisborough
    The pole kept tripping so we got the man to check and with 500w water heater plus fridge and battery charger (batteries full) we were pulling 4.8 amps so the volts must have been pretty non existent.
     
  5. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    I have a plugin tester that can measure the voltage and here in Portugal I've had it as low as 180V, it's supposed to be 220V here.
     
  6. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,471
    Likes Received:
    16,925
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    110 volts...
    But why didn't he check voltage with his meter?
     
  7. funflair

    funflair Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    4,482
    Likes Received:
    4,732
    Location:
    Guisborough
    My guess would be he didn't want to know, to be honest when the sun is shining we are better off not bothering.
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Volt drop on Spanish sites is common.. I checked and found at peak times it was less than 200v.. normally it is 220v

    so kettles etc will take longer to boil

    The law now states 230v +10% -6%, thereby allowing the European 220v system to stay at 220v and UK to stay at 240v, yet both appear to be harmonised!
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2015
  9. Badknee

    Badknee Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3,642
    Likes Received:
    15,264
    Location:
    notloB
    Go and give the donkey that's running the dynamo on a treadmill a kick up the arse to get a few more volts. ;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,471
    Likes Received:
    16,925
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Agreed Jim, but my calculation said it was 110volts....a 50% reduction.
     
  11. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    sorry John.. don't follow ..

    maybe I miss read your post
     
  12. Judge Mental

    Judge Mental Funster Deceased RIP

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,782
    Likes Received:
    6,034
    Location:
    Sarth London
    Full sites often suffer volt drop during the day.....
     
  13. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,471
    Likes Received:
    16,925
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    500w at 110v is 4.8 amps near enough....4.8a as stated by the op

    The supply should be 220v so the current should be half that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page