Solar panels for full timers. (1 Viewer)

mandymops

Free Member
Apr 2, 2012
Streatham
Funster No
MH
bedford rascal nipper
Exp
I'm a newbie
My daughter is thinking of moving in with her boyfriend. He has free accomodation in an old mobile home ( I know, not a motor home but you clever peeps probably know about this stuff.) and he has no hot water or electricity. They want a solar panel to provide them with both of the above or two separate systems, depending on which would work best. They would be using electricity for lighting, laptops, charging phones, music and brief bursts of heating to take the chill off. If they don't set up the mobile home they may be purchasing a van to do up so advice on solar panels for either would be very welcome.

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
where to start, battery powered heating is a definite no no, any meaningful heat will result in a flat battery in a few mins (literally) use gas. Hot water should likewise be gas heated or use a solar radiator system but that does require power for pumps and a number of tanks or a solar shower bag. (leave in the sun all day and wash shower at night).
Solar power to charge batteries for all other uses no problem at all provided you have enough and a large enough battery bank to carry over those wet or overcast winter days panels should be angled to the midday sun as flat will barely charge in the winter due to the low angle of the sun.

OP
OP
mandymops

mandymops

Free Member
Apr 2, 2012
Streatham
Funster No
MH
bedford rascal nipper
Exp
I'm a newbie
Wow, that was quick. Thanks. I hope you don't mind but I have copied and pasted your reply to her boyfriend to peruse. Thanks once again.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Reactions: f6c
Apr 29, 2012
Holmfirth
Funster No
MH
1990 Gulfstream RV
Exp
30yrs