Solar Panel Install - Swift 630G (1 Viewer)

Wollow007

Free Member
Dec 17, 2011
Reading
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 630g
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi guys and girls,

I'm embarking on a bit of a project, I have a Swift Sundance 630G (2003). I'm looking to install 2no 80w solar panels connecting to a controller/regulator to feed the leisure/engine battery, which in the past have gone flat while in storage etc.

I am a keen Mountain biker and have booked some races this year, which are over a number of days or full day events. All of the events have fields to camp in but no electric hook up so the solar panels will help keep the battery's topped up while I'm out riding.

I've spent a bit on the Motorhome, reversing camera, new radio, bike rack, getting the engine WOW'd on Thursday, safari room for the awning etc, and I feel the solar panels will be the icing on the cake.

I've had a good read on similar solar posts and believe I have bright what's required, got 2x80w panels for £210, regulator and panel, mounting rails, cable entry gland panel for £200 and a set of 5mtr cables and couplers for £25. I'm aware I will need some cable to connect the batteries and sealant etc so the installation should come in under £500, which I believe is a good price.

My only question, may be more once the project starts is does anyone know if the roof of my Motorhome will support me clambering around the roof fitting the panels? I'm aware I will need to clean the roof prior to panel install and need to stick the rails down with the special sealant etc, which would be a little easier if the roof would support my weight (17st). I'm aware that the outside roof skin in aluminium, which is floating, is there a ply lined roof underneath or rafters etc?

Has anyone had experience of installing solar into a 2003 Swift Sundance?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Looking forward to the WOW tuning tomorrow :thumb:

:thumb:

MikeandCarolyn

Free Member
Mar 18, 2008
Worle,North Somerset
Funster No