Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
Hi everyone i ve just aquired a solar kit off of ebay and am about to fit it but the 10 amp controller has a little wiring diagram that make no sense to me :Sad:
i dont regard myself as a complete numpty with wiring ,i was an electrician many years ago in a former life,but these chinese people dont speak my language when it comes to explaining how towire this thing in.
Any help would be gratefully received ,iknow i will get i told you so's saying dont buy chinese but they fooled me with a uk distribution address.
I cant upload a piccy but heres what to look for on ebay 190688484129 is the item number.
many thanks

Wildman

Free Member
May 30, 2008
Ilfracombe, Devon
Funster No
MH
Amazon Ambassador
Exp
since 1967
Hi Not easy to see from that picture. however there are normally 6 connections
+ - Solar panel (often shown with a smal solar panel)
+- Battery (often showing a battery)
+ - load (usually shown as a light bulb)
there may be an extra connection for type of battery gel or lead acid which involves inserting or removing a link between that connection and bat + it affects the charge rate/float charge level).
The load is a switched load controlled by the controller that will disconnect if the battery drops too low. It is the preferable way to connect a load. however it will work (with less protection) just using the basic 4 cables. Panel and battery.
Without a better picture or specific type of controller it is not possible to give more precise instructions sorry. Good luck
PS use heavy gauge wire to prevent losses.

Last edited:
OP
OP
friar tuck

friar tuck

Free Member
Nov 15, 2011
redruth cornwall
Funster No
MH
a class rv
Exp
im a newbie
Hi Wildman thanks for the reply. the controller has 4 wires only.
a +- showing panel then a pic of abattery showing a - only then a symbol of a bulb with a - only !!!!!! theres a fifth very small wire which is an ambient temp sensor.