So what do we do now?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by philk, Dec 28, 2013.

  1. philk

    philk

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Lancs
    Given that we now know that anywhere remotely south of Limoges will require a larger than current sized dish and Spain will require Jordrell bank proportions, what are we going to do.
    I dont think dishes will get bigger and what about people that have bought data systems, where they misadvised?

    Philk
     
  2. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,136
    Likes Received:
    7,690
    Location:
    uttoxeter
     
    • Like Like x 8
  3. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Learn to speak German, Astra 1 is still available. :Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. simsy56

    simsy56 Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Likes Received:
    12,236
    Location:
    Ramsey, Isle of Man.
    On our ten weeks tour of Spain and Portugal in sep,oct,nov, we didn't bother with the tv.
    We watched the odd DVD but mainly did what we used to do, enjoy each others company, play games, walk and sit in the sunshine, have a meal, chat with other motorhomers, have a few drinks etc.
    And we did not miss the dreaded tv at all.
    Much nicer. Even my missus, and ardent Corrie, and Emmerdale fan, didn't miss it.
    I was amazed at the amount of MH/RVs that pulled up on sites or parking areas, and the first thing they did was up the dish. And if no signal, move and try again. Shame so many people rely so much on their tv for 'entertainment'.
    We are going back for nine weeks in a fortnight, and we are looking forward to being without the damn thing.

    Craig
     
    • Like Like x 7
  5. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,713
    Likes Received:
    38,540
    Location:
    Dorset
    Picking up most of what we get at home on our "Oyster" dish at Benidorm...

    I think Oyster`s are about 60 or 80 cm...

    Take a good length of Sat Coax cable, as a lot of big sites have the facility`s to hook up to the site dish.. :thumb:
     
  6. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Again it will depends where you are in Spain.
    Astra 2F carries BBC1HD, ITV1, ITV1HD, C4HD and the Fives...all of which are an easy catch around the Valencia region (As "old-mo" mentions) - so no "jodrell bank sized dishes" required here for those channels.

    Also, it will be February before anyone knows what actual reception of Astra 2E, the second of three new UK TV satellites, will be like...it may be the same or similar as 2F, or completely different...
     
  7. Viennese

    Viennese Funster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,346
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    Oxford
    Buy a Scrabble set - cheaper and much more entertaining! :thumb::thumb:

    Catherine
     
    • Like Like x 4
  8. WillH

    WillH Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Location:
    SW Scotland
    Buy a Kindle!
     
    • Like Like x 3
  9. philk

    philk

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Lancs
    Future satellite

    I agree with you all about ipad, kindle, games etc. In fact in 20 years of camping, we have only had a tv for the last 5. My question is more practical, is there an alternative planned? Or is it all over?
     
  10. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Your question implies that the operators might consider planning an alternative. Why should they even consider it when the UK commercial channels have no financial incentive to sell airtime outside the UK and the BBC is mandated not to (other than BBC Worldwide operations)? In fact I think most, if not all, UK broadcasters are restrained by international broadcasting agreements from attempting to cover other territories. To date, we have benefitted from technological limitations leading to satellite coverage overspill, but now technology has caught up. The solutions seem to be: forget broadcast TV; watch via an internet stream (not always possible if the TV player 'spots' your IP address location); watch DVDs; enjoy the wine / sun / culture etc.; play tiddlywinks or an alternative.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Wildbill

    Wildbill Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    7,048
    Likes Received:
    11,962
    Location:
    Goole funster top up and elsan point
    no TV more time for drink and more drink and in-between times you could have more drink:Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    The beauty of sat TV is that there are so many to chose from and lots have some English speaking Programs. If you speak another language then you have more choice of course. Must be some USA sats up there that are easier to tune to.
     
  13. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    You will not get many of the USA satellite here in Europe...there are one or two NBC feeds on 15 west...show American football on Sundays.

    The sats at 26 east and 7 west carry MBCs and Fox and Fox movies, and can be receive in southern Europe, and carry a lot of UK and USA imports, in English, but with hardcoded Arabic subtitles.

    As mentioned there is the BBC Entertainment satellite service operated by BBC worldwide, and carries a selection of BBC programming. The service is designed for expats.

    Also, itvessentials on tinternet allows you to watch your ITV soaps outside the UK for a fee...
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2013
  14. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Hi, we arrived at La Manga a couple of days ago and Mike tried to set up the 1.2 dish to receive Sky yesterday, with no success. The signal strength is very good, but there is nothing on the quality of the signal.

    Could you tell me exactly which satellite and settings we should be pointing at? and what frequency the receiver should be. I tried to put in 12207 and pressed select, but as soon as I went off the page it changed back to 11 something or other.

    We have Horizon satellite finder but that is still looking for Astra 1N.

    We really appreciate any help and advice you can give because although not dependent on the dreaded TV Mike does like his Sky sports occasionally!

    Happy New Year to you,

    Ginny and Mike
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  15. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    The most popular reason for this is you are not aligning to the correct group of satellites.

    For UK TV you require the 4 satellites at 28.2/28.5 degrees east of south.

    Usually the Sky box needs to be set on 11778 - as that is the main frequency that carries the full 7 day Sky guide data.

    But in some areas of Spain, and on smaller dishes, and if trying to align a dish, 11778 may be hard to receive.

    So you change the default transponder frequency setting to an easier to receive frequency - like 12207.

    (you must do this in the correct screen - add channels does not always work, it must be the default transponder frequency screen!)

    If the dish is aligned correctly, the sky box will download the channel list and limited SKy data from that frequency.

    Once that data download is completed, you will be on Sky channels 998 - but you may not actually receive channel 998, as again your dish may be too small to receive that particular frequency. The key is the EPG data in the banner at the bottom of the screen.

    Once that EPG data is downloaded, your manually input frequency is then ignored, as the sky box will use whichever of the 100 plus frequencies it needs to use for the channels you have selected.


    Hopefully 11778 is relocated onto the European beam of 2E come February, so no more having to change this default frequency!


    Astra 1N is one of the satellites you need to look for.
    UK TV currently comes from 4 satellites : 1N, 2A, 2F and Eutelsat28A.
    1N is a "temporary" satellite and will be replaced soon by 2E.
    But name of the satellite makes no difference, it is down tot he frequency your meter is using.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  16. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire

    Is the default frequency screen one of those which you have to put the engineers code in first, I cant remember what that sequence was.

    We also have an Avtex TV with satellite built in, if we find a signal, and we have had a good signal and quality on other satellites, but obviously not the right one for Sky. Do you know if I can change which satellite the avtex looks for and how do I then tune into those programms as when I press the AQT key button it does not really do anything,

    I appreciate your help.

    Ginny
     
  17. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Avtex Satellite TV

    Hi, I. have worked out how to search for channels and we have Hotbird and Eurosat wall to wall so we will be able to watch the news and a bit of weird sport. We could also learn a different language!!

    If we can get these two with excellent S and Q is there any easy way to get the satellite which will giive us Sky?

    There are people close by at La Manga who have the same dish and a sky receiver and they are getting programs with 70% S and only 4% Q. We can get 74% S but no quality of picture.

    Ginny and a very frustrated Mike!
     
  18. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    SD boxes: Services 4 0 1 select
    HD boxes :Services 0 0 1 select

    Nope sorry. Usually you have a list of all the various satellites, so you can load up channels from that satellite.


    Sky signals can vary a lot (4 satellites with about 8 different beams) and reception differs a lot compared to other satellites - hotbird can be received in most of Spain on a 60cm dish...so I would expect hotbird signals to be better than the UKTV satellites anyway.

    But again, taking 11778 - in some areas of Spain 11778 is only available 24/7 on 2.4m dishes - its reception varies so much.
    So if you are trying to use that as a lock, and your dish is too small to receive it, then the Sky box will show no signal or quality on its test screen, as that test screen generally shows the levels for 11778!
    So it is perfectly usual for the sky box signal test screen to show no signals at all (from 11778) , but the box may actually be able to receive the many other signals perfectly OK, which will not be shown on the test screen.
    And 11778 varies so much during the day also - nice and strong at 5am, weakest at 5pm...
    And 11778 is also very LNB skew sensitive...
    And different receivers have different components so will give different indications for signal levels...

    So use a frequency which you know you can get - like 12207 - to align the dish to the correct satellites!
    And when you use that, you will see an improvement in the test screen indicators, as you are asking the box to lock onto a much stronger signal...
    Then the sky box will download the EPG data from 12207.
    Then the Sky box will, as it should, start to use 11778 again...and the test screen indicators will reflect this...

    SD Sky boxes will always use 11778 when you go into the menu system, as 11778 carries the SKy Guide music also!!!

    Forget the sky box and use your meter...?
    Use it with your Avtex rather than the Sky box...?

    But the "70% S and only 4%" will only be for one of the 100 plus frequencies - probably 11778...?
    Again, ignore what the test screen on a Sky box shows - it means nothing and can give, like you have found out, a false impression of what signals you are getting or not getting.
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
  19. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
     
  20. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Well if you are in an area where 11778 is unavailable on your size dish, then changing the LNB skew will not make any difference anyway!

    But if you know you are in an area where 11778 is available, then even the smallest changes in skew can help with 11778.

    And even the distance of the LNB from the face of the dish is critical and can make the difference of good or weak signal.

    Erm...I have no idea what you mean by this, or what other cables you have to put into the Sky box...!!!!
    You need to attach the cable that comes from the LNB of the dish you are using to the Sky box!
    No connection = no signal!
    So yes it does matter which cable you use!:Smile:

    If you are using a crappy "beeper" signal meter that is inline between your sky box and LNB, then:
    reboot the sky box
    change the default transponder to 12207
    go to the test screen
    align the dish - but you wil have to do this slowly as the sky box can lag in its response.
    If the sky box shows network id of 0002, and the indicators show up, and you get the date and time on the screen, then you are on the correct satellites.
    Then lock down the dish.
    Wait for the sky box to download the EPG from 12207.
    The go to a BBC channel and fine tune the dish.

    But like I said, just relying on the sky box signal test screen for comparisons is not good, as it does not as many times the signal that the screen uses may simply not be available on your sized dish where you are.

    (My 80cm dish here in Valencia gets 11778 from 10pm until about 3pm. So throguh the day between 3pm to 10pm the sky box wil show no signal on its test screen. but that does not mean that all the other 100 plus frequencies are unavailable....just that one the screen is showing. So it is around 2pm, that I can adjust the skew on the LNB to try and maximise that frequency...no point in doing the skew when I know the dish is too small to receivce the signal in the first place!)
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2014
Loading...

Share This Page