So what data sim to go for ?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Jaws, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,331
    Likes Received:
    21,660
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Yep, been asked loads of times but having toiled through the threads no one seems to have a definitive answer

    Requirements are:

    It is to be used in the iPad

    It will only be used perhaps 10 times a year so I do not want to be paying monthly

    It will be used rarely so I do not want it to run out of time ( in other words, buy it and have to use any top up on it within 30 days or so is a no no )

    What say you guys ?
     
  2. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,845
    Likes Received:
    76,162
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    I have three data sims, Vodaphone, Orange and Three. I find Three has the best coverage by a long way, very often I find myself in places and its only Three that works. Last weeks fishing meet was the same. 5bars and 3g on the three, everything else struggled to make a voice call.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. CHRI$

    CHRI$ Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,595
    Likes Received:
    7,091
    Location:
    england
    i agree with jim,3 is the only way to go,and iv tried the lot,but only have 3 now,use it 100% of the time ,as i have no broadband at home,and find it just as fast as my old bt broadband:thumb:
     
  4. Munchie

    Munchie Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,529
    Likes Received:
    11,669
    Location:
    Champagnac-La-Riviere
    Another vote for 3. I use it all the time and have never been anywhere in Scotland or England and been unable to connect. :thumb:
     
  5. buttons

    buttons Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    10,700
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    I agree:thumb: Unless you live in the coastal regions of Norfolk and Suffolk.:Sad:
     
  6. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,520
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    4 reply's and not one answer:Doh:
    3 runs out does it not or does it fulfill all the requirments listed
     
  7. Wildman

    Wildman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,458
    Likes Received:
    8,598
    Location:
    Ilfracombe, Devon
    Right like everyone else I think 3 has the best coverage, data simms are available on ebay with 3gig that lasts 90 days (various from £12 upwards)and I find that ample, never use it all. However there are from time to time non time expiring Vodaphone simms offered on ebay. I have one that has had £16 on it for nearly 2 years not sure of coverage as that dongle will not run on my netbook (Fine at home and allows me to log in to keep the simm alive), even the vodaphone shop have given up and in the process replaced my unlocked dongle with a brand new locked one. Runs fine on my other laptop but that uses a lot more power.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2011
  8. CHRI$

    CHRI$ Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    5,595
    Likes Received:
    7,091
    Location:
    england
    there is no data deal that fufill all the requiments listed,if there is i have'nt found one yet,but 3 with a 3gig at £15 top up is the way to go for light user's,i have a contract,15 gig at £15 a month:thumb:
    the best mobil broadband is 3 end of:thumb:
     
  9. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    9,636
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    Couldn't get online with my vodafone dongle whilst away a couple of weeks ago so I played about with my son's old O2 PAYGO that had £20 still on it, surprise surprise, I got a message saying my data usage would cost £1 up to midnight.

    Gave me enough to check emails, read the worst of the DM and check out a few campsites as well as FUN before I got another message telling me I was near my limit for the day. Expensive for everyday use maybe but every other day or so while away was fine.
     
  10. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,759
    Likes Received:
    7,772
    Location:
    Flintshire
    £1? bargain, £5 a day on CC sites:Laughing:
     
  11. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    34,440
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    I agree with others about "3" coverage.

    (Ironically, seeing as Jaws started this thread) the only place I've been where I couldn't get coverage was Thetford Rugby Club - but might well have done if I'd hoisted the MiFi dongle on a flag pole as subsequently suggested by Jim.

    Happily for me I have a SIM which uses the old 3pay PAYG tariff so is reasonably economical. I agree with Chris, there is no data deal that fufill all the requirements listed. It's a matter of working out which company supplies the best coverage for the areas likely to be used and then going for the best deal on offer.
     
  12. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,236
    Likes Received:
    34,440
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    Not strictly accurate. A CC £5 voucher buys 5 hours of usage which expires 6 months after activation. So, if you are only checking/responding to e-mails for half an hour a day (say) it would give 10 days usage within the 6 months.
     
  13. grumps147

    grumps147 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    879
    Location:
    St.Helens
    I can only compare 3 and O2.

    I mainly use dongles for work purposes, in town's/cities rather than countryside.

    I have tried both when out in the motorhome at various places.

    Both run out, so do not completely fulfil your requirements.

    However, here is my O2 v 3 comparison.

    O2 hardly ever gives me a connection in the countryside, if it does its 2G at best. It constantly falls out (if you get 15 minutes constant connection you are lucky), you cannot rely on it. In town's and cities, its the same. I do occasionaly get 3G, but then it falls over reasonably regularly, at least every half hour. If your anywhere the NEC when there is a major event on, forget it (Brimingham Business Park for instance).

    However, in the identical locations put the 3 on and bingo, you are in. You do get fall offs, last Saturday I had to re-connect four times in Aus v NZ game in Pooley Bridge, Lake District, but that was not enough to affect viewing experience.

    In my experience 3 is far more reliable and more frequently gives access to good connection speeds at 3G.
     
  14. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,431
    Likes Received:
    25,090
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    I bought a Vodaphone SIM off ebay, does not time out.

    Problem is, just spent time in the highlands and never got broadband where I needed it :Sad:

    Good when it works !
     
  15. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,588
    Likes Received:
    6,217
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
  16. grumps147

    grumps147 Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,228
    Likes Received:
    879
    Location:
    St.Helens
  17. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    I have unlimited "3" data on my android phone and used it as wireless dongle for my laptop last 2 months.

    August used 5gb data September 6.5gb data with no slow ups.
     
  18. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,331
    Likes Received:
    21,660
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Ok.. so it would seem there is only one option, Vodafone

    I will not pay yet another monthly tariff as I already pay for broadband at home, and a data package for the smartfone ..

    I know I can tether ok but I prefer not to as that uses a lot of battery power on the fone and sometimes that is simply not convenient


    Shame that '3' does not do a suitable package.. I agree with all that they do have really good coverage, and I like dealing with the company. Always found them REALLY helpful with any issue or query I may have ( beats Vodafone in to a cocked hat in that respect )
     
  19. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    For me its easy as use 12 volt plug to my smartphone.

    Obviously not of use in your case though John.
     
  20. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    i have the 3 mifi and in the top-up options you can top up daily from your credit
    so you could put say £15 on but not activate it as a broadband top up but credit then apply the daily amount for the days that you require it though it is something like £2.50 per day.
     
Loading...

Share This Page