Snooper Ventura S7000 Sat Nav

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by Toffs-G, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. Toffs-G

    Toffs-G Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    606
    Likes Received:
    110
    Location:
    West Sussex
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    3,208
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
     
  3. G2EWS

    G2EWS Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Devizes
    And for a little more you can have my twice used Tom Tom Truck 7000!

    Must stop mentioning this and sell the darn thing!

    Chris
     
  4. tucker_j

    tucker_j Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    While comparing prices yesterday I noticed one supplier had the S7000 in a UK only version for around £330 and a Europe version for around £370. I guessed this was related to the map coverage so double-check if you buying one for a lower price that it has european maps (if you need them of course).

    As for me, I still can't decide between the S7000 or one of the Garmin units. I like the idea of 'motorhome friendly' routes, the larger display and the ability to attach a reversing camera (though not sure I ever would). But is it really that much more benefit than a high-spec Garmin or Tom Tom??
     
  5. bailey

    bailey

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Airdrie Scotland
    Sat Nav

    I was thinking about this sat nav you said that you would never attach a reversing camera why

    Bill:thumb:
     
  6. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,490
    Likes Received:
    12,684
    Location:
    Norfolk
    I have a Garmin 865T with voice recognition etc, its v good, have never worried about my navigator re low bridges , narrow roads etc, plan the route , watch the road signs , no problem, I don't want to be on main roads and miss all the scenery.
     
  7. tucker_j

    tucker_j Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent

    Bill,

    So my logic is that if I were to add a reversing camera I could use the same screen, save having two LCD's in the cab. However, I remain to be convinced that I actually need a camera. Had the wagon for a year now and not once have I felt a camera was absolutely necessary, just another toy to add to the list


    TJ
     
  8. tucker_j

    tucker_j Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    I've been looking at the 865T Larrynwin, do you find you use all the features of such a high spec'd device?
     
  9. motorvating

    motorvating Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Hinckley
     
  10. runrig

    runrig Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    793
    Location:
    sheffield
    Hi,

    We have had a Snooper for 18 months now, it has successfully taken our RV through France, Italy, Belgium & Germany without any problems, it has taken into account low bridges etc., and found many places that our previous sat nav didnt. The other thing is that you get download updates FREE OF CHARGE for life. Our other sat nav you had to pay for updates. Best money we have spent. :thumb::thumb:
     
  11. Landy lover

    Landy lover Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,024
    Likes Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Zummerzet
    We have had the snooper s7000 since July last year and are very pleased with it - we have no problem loading POI's onto it - in fact we do that almost weekly - we have been very pleased with its accuracy and we must say that the back up service from snooper is excellent - if you send an email query you usually get a comprehensive personalised answer within an hour or so and if you need to have voice contact that can be arranged but the email has always sorted it. Son in law has the all singing version of Tom Tom and more than once the Snooper has been more accurate
     
  12. Big Momma

    Big Momma Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been considering several sat navs over the last few months, all the usuall suspects (Garmin, Tom Tom, Snooper ventura S7000 EU). I finally made my choice last week and went for the Snooper. I bought it from Snooper Direct and although more expensive than other websites offering over £100 savings I wanted the guarantee of up to date mapping. Although my purpose for purchasing this was for use in my Motorhome for the ability to plot in Length, width, height, weight I also wanted to use it in my car. As I have not got my new Motorhome as yet I cannot report on how good these features are or are not. However, used it for the first time today in my car and I love the big 7" screen, don't need my glasses on to read the info displays. The mapping is good and right up to date. My previous Sat nav still showed a roundabout that had been removed 18 Months ago !! As I tour Europe every summer I thought the ACSI preloaded data would be useful and it also has pre-loaded some (not all) sites (and aires) taken from the BORD Atlas publication as well as Caravan Club and Camping and Caravan Club sites (but not all sites are listed). The Tom Tom Truckmaster worked out no cheaper and did not have the ACSI or other camping sites pre-loaded ike the snooper.

    I am not saying that I have made the right choice, hard to say at the moment until I use it on the new Motorhome (collect it on 1st May) but I have made the choice and will have to live with it come what may. I have paid the £29.99 for the access to the speed camera database and this is better than my previous sat nav with better pre-warnings and type of speed cameras. It also has the live TMC information and this is really good. A black symbol appears on the screen when information is received on traffic/road incidents but not on your planned route, and the symbol is displayed in red if the incidents relate to your planned route, nice touch.

    The Bluetooth facility is not as good as my previous Unit which enabled me to download my phone book automatically. The Snoope has no facility available to download your phone book from your mobile so each number has to be typed in, it will then store it in 'Call History' but only by number and not by name.

    So some very good bits and some not so good bits, guess you just can't get the perfect system, but maybe one day eh :BigGrin:
     
  13. estcres

    estcres Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    766
    Location:
    Sunny Bournemouth
    This months Practical Motorhome (out today) has an item on different sat nav systems,

    They test the following:

    Snooper Ventura S7000
    Tom Tom GO 7000 Truck
    Garmin nuvi 465T
    Clarion MAP690TRK
    Navevo ProNav
    Navigon 6310 (Editors choice)

    All are supposed to be aimed for the larger vehicles.

    You might find this info useful
     
  14. nozzmoking

    nozzmoking Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Berkshire
    Been following this thread with interest. Just wondered if anyone has the Snooper AVN - S7000 Truckmate, which is the motorised version that fits in the radio slot?

    Best price I can find for it is £523.95 (incl. vat + delivery) here: http://www.satnaveasy.co.uk/snooper-avn-s7000-truckmate-i14745.html

    It's nearly £200 more than the window mounted unit, but it would be nice to 'park' the unit at the touch of a button. Does away with leads sticking out of the cigar lighter also.

    Downside I suppose is that you can't use it in the car and if the motor packs up for some reason then you're stuffed.

    Anyone here got the above, or another-make motorised unit and if so, has it been reliable?

    Paul
     
  15. Big Momma

    Big Momma Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0

    I got the Alpine Multi-Media system to go with my Alpine Blackbird Sat Nav. Nice Sat Nav and does the job, the multi-media Unit offers connectivity to rear camera, iPod connection, CD/DVD player as well as the usuall Radio. However, since having this fitted my radio reception is terrible. I usually listen to Radio 2 as it gives good frequent road reports. The radio that came with the Motorhome worked perfectly and when changing region the RDS function worked a treat. However, the radio that came with the multi media package, whilst it has RDS, this does not work very well on either the regular BBC frequencies or the local radio frequencies. Maybe it was just this Unit but it has put me off ever getting another one. Before you ask, I did go back to Alpine and they did acknowledge there was a fault with the model originally supplied so they replaced it with an updated model, that doesn't work any better either :cry:
     
  16. tick59

    tick59 Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,241
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Location:
    Newcastle Upon Tyne
    use the snooper truckmate in my job it is like all sat nav's USE WITH CARE AND USE YOUR MAPS as it can still take you were the low bridges, narrow roads and weight limits are. :Wink::Wink:
     
  17. Big Momma

    Big Momma Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    So under Trade Desciptions you could demand your money back couldn't you ?
     
  18. jacken

    jacken Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    kent
    The built in version: AVN S7000 is very good but has two drawbacks. It won't do co-ordinates and it won't load POIs. Apparently, if any satnav needs to always run the CD, then you can't do POIs or co-ordinates.

    ken
     
  19. MrJinks

    MrJinks Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Dorchester, Dorset
    I have just purchased Snooper S7000 Ventura and it seems to be a great bit of kit. It is also the first Sat Nav that has not located our postcode to a village 3 miles away !!


    I am interested in your post as I was unaware that POIs can be downloaded onto Snooper and cannot find a way to do so.....Can you do that? If yes ,please tell me how :thumb:

    regards
     
  20. GJH

    GJH Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27,228
    Likes Received:
    34,412
    Location:
    Acklam, Teesside, originally Glossop
    When I spoke to Snooper a couple of years ago they told me it was possible to add PoIs individually (i.e. one by one) but not to add a complete set of PoIs created on a PC.

    Graham
     
Loading...

Share This Page