Sky viewing card queries?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Benwick Rambler, Jul 11, 2009.

  1. Benwick Rambler

    Benwick Rambler Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    I currently have the old “blue” Sky viewing card which works in both my home-based Sky+ box and my motorhome digibox. I accept that I can’t access premium channels such as Sports & Movies when away from home.

    Does anyone have an opinion/experience on the new “white” viewing card being issued by Sky and the probability of it still working in a motorhome digibox?

    Whilst on the subject of Sky, I haven’t upgraded to Sky HD yet. If I did, would I retain the same viewing card with upgraded HD channels and, again, would this same card work in the motorhome?

    Brian :Smile:
     
  2. smifee

    smifee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    chandler's ford
    you can have all the channels you pay for when away.

    just ring sky when ready to go & pair the card to the box in the van.

    i can't remember if you have to have the box up & running when you do it.

    haven't got new cards yet.

    don't know about hd
     
  3. lugnutt

    lugnutt Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    wednesbury.westmidlands
    just take your home sky box with you ..couler will not matter then
     
  4. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Mine does it automatically when I put into the Sky box in the motorhome, no need to phone Sky. :thumb:

    Been all over Europe & never had problems. Ring Sky & they will tell you different but it works with out involving them. I have heard they tell you it's not allowed, but my experience is that most of them don't know their **** from their elbow. :Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  5. lugnutt

    lugnutt Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    wednesbury.westmidlands
    hi..but do you get your premium chanels?
     
  6. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    I get all the channels I pay for, as long as I can receive a signal which is not always possible in Southern Europe, but that's another story.
    I don't pay for movies or sports channels at all but I do have all the other programmes .
     
  7. Frankia

    Frankia Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    All Sky cards will work in a different sky box up to a point. - You will get all FTA channels and any channels you pay for except the premium ones (Movies and Sport).

    Changeing to HD will mean a new HD box at home but the card will work just as well in a non HD box but you will not get HD channels from a non HD box.

    From what I have been able to find out the new white cards will not change any of the above (not had the new card yet so can't test it out).

    If you pay for movies and or sport and put your card in a different box to the one it is registered to you will get a message on the screen telling you the card is not correct if you try to select a premium channel.
     
  8. RichardnGill

    RichardnGill Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Durham
    We have now got the new white card and it will work fine in a none paired box, but as you say you wont get movies/sport


    Richard...
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2009
  9. Benwick Rambler

    Benwick Rambler Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Thanks for all your responses so far which seem to confirm my thoughts that the new “white” card should work in the same way as the old “blue” card. Taking my home box with me to access premium channels is just too much trouble and rather defeats the object of having a separate box installed in the motorhome. I have been told that if you ring Sky that they can pair the card with another box, but doubt that they will do this on a regular basis as I alternate between home and the motorhome.

    Brian
     
  10. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Thanks for all your responses so far which seem to confirm my thoughts that the new “white” card should work in the same way as the old “blue” card. Taking my home box with me to access premium channels is just too much trouble and rather defeats the object of having a separate box installed in the motorhome. I have been told that if you ring Sky that they can pair the card with another box, but doubt that they will do this on a regular basis as I alternate between home and the motorhome.

    Yes the new white sky cards work just like the old blue house cards - ie in ANY sky box you get the "6 mixes" but for sports and movies you get "this is the wrong card for the set top box".
    Even some of the "multicam" receivers (ie nonsky boxes with special software) that read sky cards do not work with the sports or movie channels (yet!) - they are fine for the blue card tho!
    Sky do not like pairing the card to another box on a regular basis.
    And rememebr the further south you go the reception of certain channels will reduce....thats why we have 1.8 and 2.4m dishes here in Costa Blanca Spain!! Even on those not all channels are available 24/7, even some of the HD movie channels!
     
  11. jaygee

    jaygee Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    718
    Location:
    Harwich, Essex
    Hi Satandpcguy - are you the same Satandpcguy who regually posts on the Torrevieja formum?
     
  12. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Oh Yes



    - sounds like an ad!!
     
  13. jaygee

    jaygee Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,166
    Likes Received:
    718
    Location:
    Harwich, Essex
    thought you might be. You gave some helpful info when we all lost TV signal out there last year! Thanks.
     
  14. smifee

    smifee Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    chandler's ford
    sky will change the pairing whenever you want them to. why pay for sport & movies and not be able to watch them when you are away? just don't tell them you will be viewing away from your home address. i usually say the second box is in the summerhouse and doesn't get used much.

    we have sky+at home & in the MH with seperate subscriptions. at the last increase in subs i cancelled the top package for the MH card & went to the basic one. when i go away during the football season i'll just ring up & add sport to the card & cancel it when i come back.

    i regularly ring them to 'refresh' my card/box because if i don't use the box for a while then i can only get the 'free' channels. they never say 'you keep doing this. no we won't do it.'
     
  15. Teasy2007

    Teasy2007 Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Likes Received:
    724
    Location:
    Rotherham South Yorkshire
    Hi, We take our sky+ box abroad with us, it is much easier to just put it into the motorhome, or take it to the static during the summer.

    We have two sky+ boxes and the intention was to leave one in the static and just take the card with us everytime, BUT if you are like us and like to record on your sky + you will find that unless the card is paired to the box you will be unable to record programmes.

    Ginny
     
Loading...

Share This Page