Jul 24, 2015
Inverness
Funster No
MH
Burstner Nexxo T720 2016
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hello all

We let our Sky subscription lapse quite some time ago (yet again!). We are considering renewing but only if we are likely to get good coverage in our motorhome, in the UK initially.

Does anyone have recent experience? I am assuming I will be provided with a new Sky box. Will my 'old' box suffice in the van?

I appreciate we will not be able to get live sport or movies.

We have a RoadPro sat-dome.

Any words of wisdom welcome from this newbie. Thanks :)

Gorse Hill

Free Member
Feb 2, 2013
Stretford
Funster No
MH
Burnster Ixeo IT 734
Exp
Make sure it's not the sky Q, I recently did the same and found that Sky Q won't work in the van as it has a different LNB setup and the viewing card for the sky Q box won't work with the hd box
Had to change back to Sky HD box

Stonemags76

LIFE MEMBER
Aug 14, 2011
Derbyshire Dales
Funster No
MH
Auto Sleepers Warwick Duo
Exp
Full Time 2011-2013, now part timers!
Need multi room to enable your old box to work in the van, but coverage is good down to southern France with our 85cm dish. In Spain Sky channels are all we can get, but you get your full subscription, just not BBC, ITV etc.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

Kingham

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 20, 2016
Kirkcudbright, D&G
Funster No
MH
AS Kingham 2017
Exp
Since 2009
I had the RoadPro fitted to my last van and subject to the usual 'line of sight' rule to the satellite, there were only a few UK sites that I visited where I couldn't lock on and these were usually due to hills or dense trees.

It worked well in the Vendee region of France too, but I didn't get the opportunity to try it any further south.

It was a bit of a surreal moment the first time I tuned in in the Vendee, to see my local news presenter, presenting the local news back home on BBC Look North.