Sky TV

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by moonbeam, Dec 13, 2015.

  1. moonbeam

    moonbeam Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    4
    Can I take my sky box in the motorhome? Will it work abroad?
     
  2. colyboy

    colyboy Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    519
    Yes if you are mains. Or buy a 12volt Pace box and use your sky card in that.

    colyboy
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Linda and Steph

    Linda and Steph Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    1,299
    Location:
    Lancaster
    If your dish can pick up a signal the answer is yes.
     
  4. NickNic

    NickNic Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    5,436
    Likes Received:
    11,128
    Location:
    Kettering
    Yes you can but as has been said you will need EHU or a decent inverter set up.



    There are differing opinions about whether putting your viewing card in a different (i.e. 12v) box will work or not. Even Sky themselves don't seem to know. The Pace boxes, which are discontinued now, were never available in HD so that's one potential conflict. You can get them for not very much money on eBay so perhaps worth a punt.

    I've not tried it myself but I've heard every possible answer from "It will work fine" via "It will work but you won't get all channels" through to "Your viewing card is paired with your box and can't be used in a different one"
     
  5. Stealaway

    Stealaway Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Dronfield - Derbyshire
    Only about half way down France - unless you have a 'kin great big dish.

    Dish size in Cm


    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. maison

    maison Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    3,673
    Location:
    South Wales & Burgundy
    We use Sky HD+ in Burgundy, using a standard domestic dish mounted on a tripod. We only get trouble during a heavy thunderstorm when the picture breaks up. As soon as the storm is over its back to normal.

    We have found that putting a Sky viewing card into even a different Sky box gives a message this is an incorrect card for this box and means that we get only the Freeview channels, so we carry our house Sky box with us.
     
  7. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    i use a sky box ( both 220v and a spare 12v ) not an issue with the sky card in any sky box to regionalise your box; but your subscription channels are only likely to work on the original box.
    we no longer pay for sky but still use the box and card for free sat. same card in both boxes and not registered to either.

    can get receptiom down to south of France with our Arcon dish 58cm ( but thinks its 80cm :xThumb: )
     
  8. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,649
    Location:
    Salisbury
    We've had a Sky pace box for years and it works fine with our cards.picked up sky as far south as Cabo de Gata and west El Rocio.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Foghorn Leghorn

    Foghorn Leghorn Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    148
    Location:
    Dumfries and Galloway

    Most SKY channels with the exception of BBC /ITV , Channel 4 and 5s can be received all over the Iberian peninsula with an 85cm dish
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2015
  10. PeteH

    PeteH Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    2,189
    Location:
    East Yorkshire
    I got surprisingly good coverage at La Manga. (Mar Menor, Murcia) using an old sky dish, rescued from a skip!, mounted on a redundant camera Tripod, a £4 e-bay lnb and our old Pace box.

    Pete
     
  11. New Dawn

    New Dawn Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    422
    Likes Received:
    268
    Location:
    Nantwich. Cheshire
    We use we use the freesat box. 140 odd channels. With an 85cm dish. Going to Spain & Portugal end of January. So will keep an eye on this thread !!!!
     
  12. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,705
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    85cm dish, using a Pace box with Sky card ( cos we are not on hook up much ) and get all the Sky channels right down in Zahora ( thats south of Cadiz ) ok
    What we cannot get down there are the itv and bbc channels
     
Loading...

Share This Page