Sky card in different box question?

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Tezza, Jun 15, 2016.

  1. Tezza

    Tezza Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    32
    Good evening

    Now that I have my sky box sorted in the van (many thanks to all who helped me earlier this week) I have another question, to save taking the home box out each time and resetting the single feed options and box initialising etc etc, if I bought another sky HD box (to leave in the van) could I still use my home card with it without calling sky each time to pair it up?
     
  2. Speve

    Speve Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    1,652
    Location:
    Salisbury
    There is a way of pairing it online through Sky quite simple I believe but haven't needed to use it myself
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    A sky card will work in ANY Sky box without pairing for the non premium and non HD channels.
    Sky Sports, Sky Movies BT Sports, and all Sky HD channels *and if you want to Sky+ record encrypted channels) require the card to be paired to the box.

    But most of the latest versions of the SkyHD and Sky+HD boxes allow you to pair them yourself using an wifi / adls / broadband internet connection. Connect the box to the (UK) internet, go to a premium channels (Sky Sports, Sky Movies BT Sports, and all Sky HD channels) and you will get a prompt to pair the card online.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
  4. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    Get another box of a similar type and go here to pair the card.

    http://www.sky.com/quickfix

    When you come home, put the card back into your home box and pair it back again. Easy peasy.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. Fenman

    Fenman Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    628
    Likes Received:
    1,028
    Location:
    Correze, France
    Would I be right in saying you have to do that before leaving the UK or Sky will suss you are out of the country and not play ball?
     
  6. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    YOu would need o be running a VPN providing you with a UK IP address for it to work if you are outside the UK and ROI.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Ritz154

    Ritz154 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Leicester
    Tezza we have sky box in our Motorhome like you it saves keeping having to disconnect and reconnect each time , our card works in both but we forgot to take the card one holiday so went on Ebay bought second hand one and that also lives in the Motorhome , good luck
     
  8. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    You bought a sky card from ebay??? (which should not be sold as a card is always property of Sky, and it is not the sellers right to sell them)
    Was it the "freesat from sky" "free to view" card that only unlocks about 5 channels? (Local TV channels, 4Music, Insight HD, Motors TV, Nollywood Movies, Sony Entertainment Television, Sony Movie Channel and Yesterday +1)
    Or the full sky package card? (why not simply get another multiroom card from sky instead??)

    Remember you don't need a sky card to receive channels from BBC ITV C4 or Five (and about 100 other chanenls) (apart from a few HD versions which require the Sky HD package) - as they are all free to air, free from encrpytrion, and free from subscription.
     
Loading...

Share This Page