sky box

Discussion in 'Motorhome Accessories' started by Plople, Jun 6, 2013.

  1. Plople

    Plople Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton
    hi, i have a spare sky hd box due to switching to virgin.
    would this work in a van if i have the correct satellite receiver Ariel?
    i dont expect to get sky but it does recieve the free channels.
    thanks
     
  2. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,216
    Likes Received:
    9,593
    Location:
    Dorset
    yes you can use it in the van with a suitable sattellite dish and tripod. you will also need an alignments meter to set the dish, which once you have the knack takes about 1 minute. my quickest alignment ever was about 12 seconds, as i knew from experience where to point the dish

    either use a freesat card from sky or if you subscribe bring your card from home, but it will need pairing with the box
     
  3. stevensson10

    stevensson10

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    normanton
    sky

    can I have sky in my motorhome and if I can how do I go about it thanks steve
     
  4. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,435
    Likes Received:
    34,472
    Location:
    kent
    Reading the post above yours would be a fantastic start.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. stevensson10

    stevensson10

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    normanton
  6. Chris

    Chris Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    16,435
    Likes Received:
    34,472
    Location:
    kent

    For pointing out the obvious?

    :lips:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
  8. philw111

    philw111 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Moray Firth
  9. laser101uk

    laser101uk Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    845
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    My old sky box gets all the fta channels. when I left sky I asked if I would receive them and they said yes. there's loads on there for free.
     
  10. Linda and Steph

    Linda and Steph Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    1,289
    Location:
    Lancaster
    Maybe Jim could pay the 99p and make it available to the forum :Wink:
     
  11. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,216
    Likes Received:
    9,593
    Location:
    Dorset
    absolutely, if you have sky at home bring your box with you and get hold of a cheap sattellite dish, tripod and meter


    setup the tripod with the dish pointing in the general direction of the sattelite at 28* east, often easiest if you copy the direction of other dishes nearby.

    then connect the cable to the sky box and the other end to your meter, then plug the free end onto the dish.


    turn on the skybox, which is connected to your tv, maybe by scart lead. turn on and set your tv to see the sky box output. it should say no sattelite signal

    go outside and turn the meter up so you can hear a continuous tone. then VERY slowly move the dish left to right until the tone changes to the highest pitch. you will find that you pick up a sat signal that still doesnt get sky working this is fractionally to the right and above the sky satellite in the sky.

    when you have the best tone, either go inside and check or have an assistant do so. select tv guide, if you get listings, your on the right channel. select one to check.

    then remove the meter and connect the cable direct to the dish

    this is a very non technical description and I have found most people understand it easier than talking about lnb's or frequencies and compasses

    one thing to remember is that you must be line of sight to the satellite and unlike an aerial for tv, a tree in the way will block your signal
     
  12. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Well if you do send me details :Wink:Hate to waste almost a quid :BigGrin: We are leaving sky on the 21 st so our sky box will be redundant -but if I can get it to work we have loads recorded on it that we intened to watch but it would/will take us longer than the time left to watch it all :BigGrin:
    I will have to get in touch with my mate to see if/how to get what we have recorded off the hard drive if the quider fails :Rofl1::BigGrin:
    terry
     
  13. philw111

    philw111 Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    508
    Location:
    Moray Firth
    We've not been Sky customers for years but still have the old box and old card. It still gives quite a few channels free but there are some that are free on Freeview that are scrambled on Sky - I am assuming that it is these that the 99p trick will solve. Not sure if it will enable you to watch recorded progs tho (but I will let you know)

    Phil
     
  14. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,360
    Likes Received:
    9,632
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    You normally have to be paid up and plugged in to Sky to be able to watch recorded programmes but be interesting to find out, if only I could manage the 99p! :Sad:
     
  15. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,216
    Likes Received:
    9,593
    Location:
    Dorset
    as said you need to be subscribing to view recorded programs on the box. otherwise its a case of removing the harddrive and installing it on a computer and using specially written software to read and copy the files. too complicated for most people to bother really
     
  16. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Paul says you can copy from sky box to a lappy etc :thumb: but me I have no idea :Sad: so wil get him to do it:BigGrin:
    Terry
     
  17. Apocalypse

    Apocalypse Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Halesowen, West Midlands
    I can confirm, once you have cancelled sky subscriptions, you automatically loose the right to view what was recorded, even though its still on the hard drive :Doh:
    IMO. and being with Virgin for over 15 months now (only to try and get broadband at a speed so the kids could enjoy gaming) don't bother!! SKY offers loads more and don't forget if you are on SKY you get SKYGO free anyway, so as long as you have WIFI, you can watch all the channels you pay for on a laptop or tablet:Cool: with more sites offering WIFI, may be worth waiting or buy a dongle?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. Huddersfield123

    Huddersfield123

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Sky in Motor Home

    Hi
    There is a bit of kit on the market which is made in Gemany that you can fix on the back of your TV and then plugs into the HDMI socket oo the TV you then put your Card into the unit and it allows you to watch ALL the programmes you can at home in your lounge
     
  19. BgClick

    BgClick Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    West Mids
    snigger
     
Loading...

Share This Page