sky box

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by francour, Mar 22, 2013.

  1. francour

    francour Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Hi
    can i use my sky box from home in the camper Thanks Bernie:RollEyes:
     
  2. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    Yes, as long as you have a suitable satellite dish. :Smile:
     
  3. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    Hi Bernie, yes you can we use an old one of ours. You will need elec hook up though. And dont forget your card to get whatever channels you subscribe to.

    Oh, to state the obvious you will need to hook it up to a sat dish.:thumb:
     
  4. Thedriver

    Thedriver Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    south essex Benfleet
    Hi there, a 300w inverter would run your tv and sat box easy!. But what battery capacity have you got? Solar panel?
     
  5. francour

    francour Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Pontefract
    Hi
    will skybox work in europe Thanks:RollEyes:
     
  6. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    Yep,, but depends on size of sat dish and how far south you are.
     
  7. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    Yes, but reception depends on location and size of dish. :BigGrin:
     
  8. Bailey58

    Bailey58 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    6,347
    Likes Received:
    9,608
    Location:
    Norfolk and Toftir.
    There's differing opinions on this, as aired on earlier threads, but to get all the channels you subscribe to you need your viewing card in the same box as it's married to at home. The card will get you the free to air channels in a second box but not sports, films etc. if you subscribe to those. :Smile:
     
  9. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    No differing opinions.

    Free to air channels do not require a card to watch, as they are, by definition, free to air. These FTA channels include BBC ITV C4s, Fives, Sky News,, Challenge, Pick TV, and around 200 other FTA channels.

    Free to view channels, do require a card, but not a subscription card. FTV channels include Five HD, Motors TV, Viva TV , LFCTV.

    Then there are Sky / pay channels.

    A Sky card will work in ANY Sky box, for channels in the Entertainment and Entertainment Extra Sky subscription pack. Channels you will not get if using the card in another box are Sky Sport's, Sky Movies and some Sky HD channels. Generally these "premium" channels will only work in the Sky cards "paired" box.

    But these days many "non sky and non freesat" receivers, like the Ariva, or GI range, can read a sky card, and allow access to Sports and Movies...downsides of these receivers are very limited (now and next) programme guide, and channel frequency changes are not automatic, which Sky and Freesat boxes do./

    Yes a Sky box will work in Europe.
    But it will only receive the channels that your dish is big enough to receive in the first place.
    And still in some areas of Spain, some Sky channels still require a 2.4m dish to receive 24/7.
    And no matter how far south you are in Europe, you will always be able to get some UK TV / Sky channels, but maybe not the ones you want.

    But as per another thread, reception of the main BBC ITV C4s may / will change in the summer, when they move to thier new Astra 2E satellite, whose UK beam is expected to have a much harder to receive signal than the satellite these channels are currently located.
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page