Sky box - using. Astra one in Dolomites Italian Alps??

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Mart grump, Mar 29, 2015.

  1. Mart grump

    Mart grump Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Dorset
    Help required!!
    We can pick up Astra 1 ( for what it worth) but how do we run the Sky box using this satellite, if in deed we can?? It maybe we're contacting it up wrong ( hoping something simple) but anybody have any suggestions / answers??

    Thanks all as always :)
     
  2. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    You cannot use a sky box on Astra1... sorry
     
  3. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    As above if its a true sky box it will only work on Astra 2.

    and unless you have a fairly big sat dish ( 80 cm plus ) you are unlikely to get astra 2 strong enough assuming you can find it. ( in the Dolomite's )
     
  4. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,321
    Likes Received:
    21,588
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Not a whole lot of help but with a decent LNB replacing the standard one ( something that is rated with a .1dB noise figure ) I get full sky package right down to the very southern tip of Spain with our 80cm dish

    Changing the LNB is simple. Undo the two bolts clamping it in place, unscrew the cable connector, screw cable to new LNB and refit to arm.

    It is also worth mentioning the further south you go, the more 'skew' is required on the LNB.
    That is just the amount 'off vertical' the LNB is.
    Down where you are, stand in front of the dish. Release the LNB fixing bolts and twist said LNB to about 25 minute to the hour or slightly clockwise..That will help a lot even on the poorer LNB's

    Footnote.
    The higher the noise figure quoted for an LNB, the poorer it is, so one with a noise figure of say .4dB is much worse than a .1dB unit

    Footnote.
    LNB stands for Low Noise Block
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Lee Fryer

    Lee Fryer Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Is that now since the footprint change.
    Lee
     
  6. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,321
    Likes Received:
    21,588
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    That was as of two weeks ago.. We have only just got back to the UK having been there since mid January.. and just to make things a bit nore interesting, the sky view to the satellite was partially obscured by trees that were very close !
    In fact I might have a picture somewhere to prove it :) !
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Lee Fryer

    Lee Fryer Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    Eastleigh
    Thanks Jaws
    Lee
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,321
    Likes Received:
    21,588
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    I should actually quantify my rather sweeping statement that we got all the sky package..
    This is absolutely true.. Everything from all the various factual channels, the various free film channels and all the usual Sky one such as Atlantic, SciFi etc etc etc

    BUT we did not get any of the BBC channels or the ITV ones ( such as BBC1,2,3, and 4 and all the variations of ITV ( too many to list LOL !! ) )
     
    • Like Like x 1
  9. markh

    markh

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    243
    Why have you gone to Spain to watch English tv, you could have stayed at home and watched the utter crap
     
  10. markh

    markh

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    243
    Sorry I should have said, you've no chance of getting sky in the Dolomites, take a book
     
  11. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,321
    Likes Received:
    21,588
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Why are you being so obsequious Mark ?
    Did a telly bite you when you was a small child ? :ROFLMAO:
     
  12. eddievanbitz

    eddievanbitz Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,538
    Likes Received:
    10,988
    Location:
    Taunton Somerset
    East or in your case West :wink:
     
  13. John Laidler

    John Laidler Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    8,564
    Likes Received:
    11,544
    Location:
    Plympton, Devon
    But wouldn't that have to be a book written in Italian if you don't think people should watch English language TV outside the UK? :):):)

    But I agree about not needing TV. In a way I'm glad you can't get BBC because it does actually make us read books, play Scrabble and go out and speak to perfect strangers!

    And as for Sky....
     
  14. laneside

    laneside Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,490
    Likes Received:
    5,288
    Location:
    Oradour sur Vayres
    I have to agree with Jaws we have had Astra 2 all the way down through Spain and into the Algarve and back.we also use a 12 volt Pace sky box with paid for card and got most of the Sky channels, for what they are worth, with the exception of anything from ITV or BBC

    Hey never ring Sky up from abroad or they will switch your card off and switch it on at least fortnightly or they may also switch it off
     
  15. Clickem

    Clickem Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Northumberland
    When we were based on the Costa Blanca, we were told that Sky channels are on the Astra 2 group at 28 east - this is on the "European beam". So its reception is better than those channels (BBC & ITV) which are on the "UK" beam.

    Hence you can use a smaller dish for channels on the European beam than for channel on the UK beam. A dish of 80cm should be fine to receive it.

    But a 60 or 70cm dish can be used for Astra 1 group of satellites - at 19.2 east, which carry Sky News International, BBC World News, CNN.... and is used for Spanish, and German satellite TV also.
     
  16. mentaliss

    mentaliss

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    657
    Likes Received:
    307
    Location:
    Lancing
    _________________________________________________
    You haven't been to many countries then :D:D.....we have been all over the world and I have to tell you our TV is by far the best
     
  17. markh

    markh

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    243
    I quite like Derren Litten's series 'Benidorm'
     
Loading...

Share This Page