Shopping List and Advise for solar panels ( nearly there...... )

Discussion in 'Solar Power' started by Hobby 1, Feb 22, 2016.

  1. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi all,I've been looking for a while, i've received some great advice up to now from everyone but i just need to know a few more things. I have ordered the solar panels 3x100, also i have ordered the charge controller which has been recommended by techno100 (andy), just a few more things that i am not sure about.....

    1) I'm going for 6mm cable from the solar panels to the charge controller , will this 6mm cable be adequate from the charge controller to the batteries? The charge controller is a max25A MPPT solar charge controller.

    2) I am fixing 3 solar panels with aluminium brackets as suggested by techno Andy , i am not sure how many tubes of sikaflex i will need, could you please advise?

    3) Is there anything else i need to know or buy regarding the set up?

    All help and advice would be most appreciated , thanks again,
    Hobby1 ( Roy)
     
  2. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,962
    Likes Received:
    3,299
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    two would probably be enough 3 to be on the safe side you can buy sticksal from tool station just dont buy the clear ,white or black is fine
     
  3. Stealaway

    Stealaway Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Location:
    Dronfield - Derbyshire
    Make sure the connections on the charge controller ect has connections large enough for 6mm cable - most are 4mm.
    How are you connecting the panels together mechanically/electrically?
    IMO a tube of sikaflex should be plenty - you can always buy more. Don't press the glue out too much, you need a mm or two of thickness under the brackets.
    I would recommend an amp meter to monitor the charging and to help make sure that all the panels are working when you connect them one by one.
     
  4. Boycie

    Boycie Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    541
    Location:
    West Cornwall
    Hi Roy if you follow @Techno advice then you will be ok. When I upgraded mine I added isolation switches both on the panel side and battery this allows for any future work to be carried out safely. Make sure if you isolate the panels they are charging your battery(s) in float mode. When connecting up, battery(s) first then panels and vice versa if disconnecting. It is up to you whether you wire the panels in series or parallel just make sure the controller can handle your 300w of panels. @Techno tested some panels which makes an interesting read.
    Phil
     
  5. sweetie

    sweetie Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    102
    Location:
    Cromer norfolk
  6. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    HI, I have got this charge controller WP_20160223_030.jpg .
    Would you still recommend an amp meter? Do I need an inline fuse anywhere?If so, where abouts and what size fuses are needed?
    Where would I put an isolation switch?
    I have got one pair of MC4 branch connectors, I know I need two more but would it be best to go for the Y branch connector? WP_20160223_028.jpg
    I have been told that the charge controller has got to be as close as possible to the batteries but in my case, I am going to be about 2metres away, will that be okay or not?
    Thank you for everybody's help
    kind Regards,
    Roy Armstrong ( Hobby 1)
     
  7. Stealaway

    Stealaway Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Location:
    Dronfield - Derbyshire
    It wont matter where you fit it, probably near the controller.
    I used one of these, It will a switch and a fuse. I don't think you will need a larger ampage but there is a 30A one.

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/181592246704?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    Dose the solar panels come with connectors fitted for these Y pieces. I did try these and struggled to fit 4mm cables into them. I gave up when I could get them reliable enough. I eventually went to simple connectors in a home made plastic case.
    Similar to this -
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Electric-...292286?hash=item43e1fd723e:g:mewAAOSw3ydV5mAG

    I fitted an amp meter where it could be easily seen but chose one where I could hide the wires.
    The one you have will be good if you can disguise all the wiring into it.
     
  8. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi there, thank you for your response, much appreciated!

    can anybody advise me about the 6mm cable? Im using the 6mm cable from the solar panel to the charge controller. I have checked and the charge controller will take the 6mm cable, what i would like to know is if i buy a long enough length of 6mm cable, will i be able to use the same 6mm cable from the charge controller to the batteries? hope this doesn't sound too confusing!!

    Thanks in advance, i really appreciate your help and advise
    Roy (Hobby 1)
     
  9. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,474
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Yes of course
     
  10. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi,Thanks to ( mitzimad, stealaway,Boycie,sweetie.) Hi,Thanks Andy that is the cable sorted out,do i need to put any in line fuses anywhere if so where and what size.I like the idea of isolation switches the same one as stealaway suggests,what do you think? My charge controller is the same as the one you have but the nearest i can get it to the batteries is about one and a half meters away from the batteries,is that to far away? Thanks Roy,(Hobby1)
     
  11. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,474
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    No its fine especially with 6mm
    Dont stress over distance from the batteries, put it where its convenient
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2016
  12. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Thanks Andy that is sum thing else sorted out,Roy (Hobby1)
     
  13. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi , I am going to buy one of these ,you can buy them with different size fuses, what size fuse do you think I would need? WP_20160302_001.jpg Also, would I need any inline fuses to go anywhere?
    Regards, Roy ( Hobby 1)
     
  14. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,474
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    The regulator instructions show you what to do
     
  15. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi, can you put the solar panel up to each other,or do you have to leave a space between them? I want to hide the wires as much as possible.also what size fuse fuse do I put in my circuit breaker.Regards, Roy (Hobby 1)
     
  16. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi,I am going to fit my 3 one 100 solar panels on the roof soon as we have a nice day,can anyone tell me which is the best sikaflex to use. (sikaflex 512)or (sikaflex221) any advice or tips would be appreciated.Regards,Roy (Hobby 1)
     
  17. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,474
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2016
  18. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi,Thanks Andy.
     
  19. Hobby 1

    Hobby 1

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Hi,I installing 3 x 100 solar panels though my mppt pcm 3012 charge controller to my battery.I e,mailed the supplier he said 30 amp but can go up to 40 amp,what which one wound you use?.with the load port he wrote you can try a 25 amp or 30 amp,the reason we should be more conservative here is you don't want to oversize a load and cause this to break the circuit in the charger, in the user manual it say's 40 amp which ones wound you use.Regards Roy.
     
  20. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,847
    Likes Received:
    14,474
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    The most your three panels can produce thought the mppt is as I've witnessed 22.5 amps
    A 30 amp fuse is fine but you are using 6mm cable so it doesn't really matter as he said
     
Loading...

Share This Page