Self build ambulance convertion (1 Viewer)

Regallee

Free Member
Jul 28, 2013
Stoke
Funster No
MH
Convertion
Exp
Since 2009
image.jpgHi all. I've been converting a ambulance for about the last 6 months on and off. The interior is almost complete so time to start on the outside. I've Terry's van on here and it looks fantastic. Was wondering if any one had any ideas of how to get rid of the lights at the top of the van? Not sure if liberally covering the existing with filler will hold up. Any input or suggestion would be greatly appreciated. The pic is not our van but the same setup with the exception of the doors removed.

Last edited:

sdc77

Free Member
Jan 28, 2013
Weardale, Co Durham
Funster No
MH
Coachbuilt
Exp
since 2011
Omg...
Is yours like that? That's wicked..
Anyway.. If the built in light bear is still in situ I would imagine the best way to remove it would be to take it off and use it as a mould to make a fibre glass copy.. Or summat like that

Apr 29, 2012
Holmfirth
Funster No
MH
1990 Gulfstream RV
Exp
30yrs
Proper way would be to repair each hole with a fibreglass patch, such as a boat would be repaired. If you can get to the inside this is easy, by using sticky back plastic to the face, and laminating from the inside, then sand down and finish with body filler. If you only have access from the outside, then you can cut stiff cardboard pieces slightly larger than the hole, and place fibreglass mat on the cardboard, and with a couple of pies of welding wire or similar going thru the card enter the resined mat and cardboard in thru the hole, line up and pull it up flush with the wire. It is then later either built up with a bit more mat cut to fit the hole, or just finished off again with body filler. You might find it explained better on the internet, and there may even be videos on utube.

Subscribers  do not see these advertisements

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid