Dec 17, 2011
Reading
Funster No
MH
Swift Sundance 630g
Exp
Im a newbie
Hi Guy's

I've started the installation of the solar panels etc. installing a Victron system which I have to say is top quality.

I have installed the charge controller, monitor and a Victon battery monitor, shunt etc etc, wire coming out of my ears lol, taken my time and installed it properly though.

I currently have a 75ah battery under the drivers seat (Swift Sundance 630G 2004). I want to change this battery and add another. I am aware that I need to keep them the same size amp hour wise and have been advised that the passenger seat would be an ideal place to install, however there is plenty of space under the rear seats (storage area).

So my question is should I install under the front passenger seat or rear seat.

Also is it correct to keep the amp hour rating the same for both batteries?

I have noticed that the wiring running from the main leasure battery is only small, circa 4mm and currents has a 20amp fuse (I believe), I'm going to downrate the fuse to a 10 or 15amp as the cable rating will only be around 17amps. The solar panels will only kick around 9 amps so the cabling I have installed (6mm from a new fuse board to the batteries, 4mm connecting to the charge controller to the fuse board, which is around 8 inches from the fuse board) I will also rate the fuses at 10-15amps.

Any advice will be helpful ;)

TheBig1

LIFE MEMBER
Nov 27, 2011
Dorset
Funster No
MH
A class
Exp
many many years! since I was a kid
you need to bear in mind that the longer the cable run to the batteries (and from battery to accessory rtc) should be kept as short as is practically possible. this is due to voltage drop over the length of the wire and any connections in it. You will therefore be wasting a percentage of the solar panel output

positioning the batteries at the rear of the van would mean that they are at the furthest point from the alternator to charge as well

Rayb182

Funster
Deceased RIP