Searching for first Camper...so many boxes to tick! (1 Viewer)

Powdermill

Free Member
Jul 4, 2011
Kent
Funster No
MH
Not yet!
Exp
I'm a newbie
Hi there,

I've just posted a 'hello' over in the introductions forum. My family and I are searching for our first campervan. We're a gang of 5, my wife and I and our 13, 6 and 5 year olds. We love camping - or at least most of it. With 5 of us, a huge tent, a kitchen and countless amounts of gear to schlep around, set up, tear down and repack, we seem to spend most of our time handling the logistics and less and less time relaxing as a family. We also like to do day trips to the coast or elsewhere, and would like to have a base to relax in, have something to eat and get out of the cold.

So with this in mind, we've started looking for a used campervan. We love what we're seeing, but we've got a lot of priorities, or boxes to tick, and we're going round in circles - one van has this, but not this, etc. I hoped to search the forum for some similar questions, but this isn't available to me as a non-paying user. (One day soon I hope.)

So could I possibly ask for some advice? I suppose the main thing I'd want to know is which bodies might give us what we need.

Here's a list of priorities:

Budget - it's £5000 on the road. Not a great deal I know, but we're not snobs about things like worn interiors or cosmetic bodywork issues. My wife's turned a few neglected houses into warm/cosy homes and I'm sure we can do this with a van as well. And I've realised looking around that high-mileage is not always a bad thing.

5 safe seats - ideally this is 5 seats with 3-point belts. We'd settle for a lap belt in the back, but we refuse to put the kids in a lap belt, so this would mean my wife would have to sit in the back - which isn't great, as time spent driving together is one of our rare chances to talk.