Satnav charging

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by WynandJean, Jul 8, 2014.

  1. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Location:
    West Midlands
    This is getting silly. I have a Garmin satnav. The charging cable that came with it is standard length (about 1mtr) and will only reach the nearest cig. lighter socket by being draped across the dashboard and generally getting in the way. I would like a longer lead so I can route it neatly around the dashboard area, discretely out of the way. I have the option of USB or cig. lighter power supply so first tried a USB to mini USB cable. This all fits nicely BUT when powered up the satnav goes into data mode (as when connected to a computer for programmiming it). OK so I bought a Garmin charger with 2mtr lead. Plugged that into the cig. lighter - same thing. It goes into data mode. Does anybody know how I can find a cable long enough that will simply keep it charged without sending into data mode? Grrrr!

    Wyn
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. Mikeco

    Mikeco Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Market Rasen
    Just use an extension cable from the 12v socket which will have another 12v socket on the end.

    Mike
     
  3. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,948
    Likes Received:
    30,798
    Location:
    Lancaster
  4. Reallyretired

    Reallyretired Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5,706
    Likes Received:
    3,209
    Location:
    Eastbourne East Sussex
    I have a 3 way extension next to where my (3) satnavs sit.
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,884
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    Strange you should mention this.....

    My new tomtom wont connect to my laptop or PC if its sat on its screen mount.
    The supply wire is fitted to the mount and the tomtom has a multi pin socket which sits in a corresponding plug on the mount.

    To connect to my laptop i have to unplug the lead from the mount, or use a separate usb cable, and plug in directly.

    Its probably the way the internal connection within the mount is wired....only a minimum number of pins connected to allow charging, whereas the actual USB lead is fully wired.

    So, you may need a specific USB lead.
     
  6. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Yes, I'm sure that's the answer but I don't know how to work out which lead to get. When I ask in the shops that sell these things I get a pimply youth who shrugs his shoulders. When I send for them online they don't do as I need. It's so frustrating.

    Wyn
     
  7. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Yes, I have one of those already but if I mount that so the short cable will reach I then have an even bigger 'thing' in the way on the dash. It's very frustrating. It's partly to do with the shape of the dashboard which doesn't really have any suitable place to attatch anything.

    Wyn
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Tootles

    Tootles Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    8,948
    Likes Received:
    30,798
    Location:
    Lancaster
    OK then, just use a single cable extension, and stuff the spare cable into the glove box.
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,455
    Likes Received:
    16,884
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    I know what you mean.....
    I needed a second mount and looking on ebay and amazon there were quite a few at reasonable prices......but something made me rethink and i paid £38 via amazon for a genuine tomtom branded mount.
    Too many niggling concerns about the mount plug and USB socket in the non genuine ones.
     
  10. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,209
    Likes Received:
    9,588
    Location:
    Dorset
    take a razor blade or small craft knife and put a slit in the long usb cable. this will let you get at the internal wires. normally you need to cut the white and green data wires, just leaving red and black for power. then close the wire with some tape
     
  11. WynandJean

    WynandJean Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Aha! Now that sounds like the kind of solution I need. There is obviously a difference in how they are wired and this must be it. That being the case it makes me wonder what's going on with the cig. lighter cables as presumably they are just live and neutral. Puzzling.
    Thanks Big1

    Wyn
     
Loading...

Share This Page