Satellite system

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Benni-Boy, May 21, 2009.

  1. Benni-Boy

    Benni-Boy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Halifax
    OK then, how many of us were outside Aldi at 9am this morning banging on the door for our portable satellite systems!?:Rofl1:
     
  2. American Dream

    American Dream Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    154
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Drat Drat and double Drat.:Doh:

    Did you manage to get one?Are they any good?:thumb:
     
  3. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,947
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    not me!!!!!

    much more important things to do, like keeping me job...:Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  4. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Hi
    I couldn't make it as i was away golfing so Wife got her friend to go in she arrived at 8 45 to a large queue when it opened everyone ran up the aisle but she had noticed they where all at the till so got one but she said 1 person was removed from the shop by the manager for just about fighting with an other customer. (must have been a caravan owner :BigGrin:)

    Gerry
     
  5. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,947
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    thats what they do at our store but once a decent queue has built up outside they go out and give raffle tickets to the first X in the queue depending how many of the product they have. 30 items = 30 tickets.

    that way those who have queued the longest get the product:thumb:
     
  6. dellwood33

    dellwood33 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,449
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Plenty left at our local store at lunchtime. There again our local Discover outlet has the same sort of kit in for £59 :)
     
  7. Ruddy

    Ruddy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haverhill,Suffolk
    I wandered in to my local Aldi store at around 1pm, browsed around for a while, then leasurely made my way up to........My mate who's the manager, And walked out with one from "out the back" :Rofl1:

    Going away for the weekend and taking it with me, I'll let you know what it's like on Monday. (unless i've taken it back :RollEyes:)
     
  8. lorger

    lorger Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,190
    Likes Received:
    7,560
    Location:
    Dumfries
    Yes have seen the raffle ticket system being used at some sales but Aldi didnt do that might have to start it though to save a punch up:BigGrin:
     
  9. Sundowners

    Sundowners Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,346
    Likes Received:
    1,404
    Location:
    Suffolk
    Sad I know, but we were there at 8.30 a.m. along with Upmarkethippy.

    Both bought, but not yet set up, has anyone got theres working yet?

    Nigel and Pamala
     
  10. Road Runner

    Road Runner Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14,196
    Likes Received:
    1,459
    Location:
    Europe
    Last edited: May 22, 2009
  11. Bertiebootlace

    Bertiebootlace Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Herefordshire
    Hi All this is my first post on the site so be gentle !
    I bought one about a year ago from Aldi and it drove me mad trying to set it up but can now get it up and running in about 5mins.They work very well and you can get loads of channels, most of which are not worth watching.
    I use mine attached to the top of a strong camera tripod and strap it down if it is windy,also the dish has to be vertical, otherwise I find it does not pick up a signal.
    Look on www.satelliteforcaravans.co.uk there is loads of info on there and also freesat - Home which lists all the channels you can get.
    The best advice I can give is persevere with it at first and it will become a piece of cake to do.

    Bertie
     
  12. Petew

    Petew Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    30
    Tv & satellite

    Bought one yesterday from ALDI.
    Getting very frustated trying to set the thing up.
    No luck yet.

    Getting a good signal but no Quality.

    Pete
     
  13. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi Pete

    Persevere, you are probably on the wrong satellite.. try turning just a little further toward East
     
  14. Ruddy

    Ruddy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haverhill,Suffolk

    Maplins are £25 more, and they dont come with the sat finder.

    Got mine up and running in about 30 mins (although mostly german:Doh:)
    Once one the right sat, It worked very well.
     
  15. Ruddy

    Ruddy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haverhill,Suffolk
    Dispite what the destructions say, Get a good signal (mine was 72 %) then pick your sat's to scan, then just scan, the quality will show up as its scanning.
     
  16. sinbad1

    sinbad1 Deleted User

    looks like your getting the hang of it don't think you have the right satelite though?

    sat finder where you are enter your postcode click here

    Regards
     
  17. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,475
    Likes Received:
    16,947
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    i have to agree....

    tried to set mine at newark and even though the strength was very good i couldnt get a picture.

    for unknown reasons the sat box settings had changed to Hotbird (i think)
    the sat finder could 'see' the astra satellite but as the box was set to recieve Hotbird it didnt know what it was supposed to do.

    took about half an hour and a full retune to sort it.

    bonus was, i found loads of new, to me, channels after rescanning:thumb:
     
  18. Ruddy

    Ruddy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haverhill,Suffolk

    Once I was on the right one (as above) the signal was 72% with 0 quality until I scanned.
     
  19. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Was in ALDI Carlisle on Saturday & they had plenty left. Not much good if you live in Cornwall I suppose. :Rofl1::Rofl1:
     
  20. Petew

    Petew Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    30
    In my instructions it say's do not scan until you have a reading in the Quality box.

    Pete
     
Loading...

Share This Page