Satellite Finder

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Snitrats, Oct 26, 2012.

  1. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    It might just be me but I am finding Astra 2 increasingly hard to find. At the moment I am using the normal meter type finder, lots of buzzing but no quality most of the time.
    Camos Flat dish & sky & FTA boxes are all fine.
    So can anyone recommend a better meter that would identify which satellite your looking at ? For of course a reasonable price.:Smile:
     
  2. Techno

    Techno Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    13,853
    Likes Received:
    14,506
    Location:
    Leeds the one up North
    Good app for iphone so you can at least be sure you're pointing the right way

    [ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-caC14ISoE"]SatFinder iPhone App Review - CrazyMikesapps - YouTube[/ame]
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. SandJ

    SandJ Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,558
    Likes Received:
    518
    Location:
    North Yorks
    • Like Like x 1
  4. magicsurfbus

    magicsurfbus Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,497
    Likes Received:
    8,236
    Location:
    NW England
    The Maxview satfinder gadget I bought as an extra for my system was a complete waste of time and money. It turns out the tuner box has an info option which displays signal strength and quality as two bars on the TV screen. All I do now is set it to Sky News, press info on the remote, and jiggle the dish about 'til the strength and quality reach their respective peaks.

    The little compass gizmo gives me a reasonable idea of where to point the dish, provided I'm not too close to large metal objects like Motorhomes.
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    i use one of these ( Manhattan DSM-4s sat finder ) you power it up either from the box or a stand alone battery ( then you can set the dish and move it around / relocate from the dish, without having to refer back to the box ).
    you select the satellite you are looking for and slowly move the dish as normal, you will see the bars increase until it makes a sinle sound and indicates satellite lock and its strength.

    also might be of interest, Sky are shuffling satellites at the moment!!!! so 28.2 Astra is being serviced from another satellite in the same location ( we cant tell apparently ) this is while they reset / upgrade Astra 28.2.

    this sat finder is not cheap £120 but hold the location of the 4 most popular and is reprogramable for any others via your PC.
    great bit of kit, have used it all over uk and along the med coast without fail.:thumb:
     

    Attached Files:

  6. johnp10

    johnp10 Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,638
    Likes Received:
    14,190
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire
    That's all you need, provided you can see the tv screen of course.
    Just press "info" on the remote control.
    Add to that: if the picture is "blocky", slightly adjust the dish up / down.
     
  7. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    the other thing is patience as the box signal meters take a while to re register so only move in small increments and pause before moving again
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
  9. Leftlegger

    Leftlegger Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    N.somerset
    This is all I use together with a compass and the quality bar on the tuner,Also I,ve made up a powerpoint presentation with screenshots of likely places where i,ll be heading for,gives a good idea of things:BigGrin:
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Have just ordered one of these so I will let you know how it works.
    To answer others, thanks, don't have a smart phone , and I do use dishfinder prior to picking a pitch. I think one of the problems is that the flatsat rotation is a little stiff and tends to jump around a bit. Interesting to see that this finder can also be used as a FTA box:thumb:
     
  11. Steve_UK

    Steve_UK Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Mid Sussex
    I was considering one of these, or a similar model, and would be very interested in a review of it when you get it.

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  12. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    For clarification:

    UK TV currently comes from 4 satellites, located between 28.2 and 28.5 east.
    They are: Astra 1N, Astra2a, Astra 2b and Eutelsat 28a (formally Eurobird 1)

    Sky are not doing any satellite shuffling, as Sky do not own any satellites. They, along with all the othre broadcasters rent transpondersw from the satellite owners and operators.

    SES Astra, who own and operate 3 of the satellites are replacing their 3 satellites with 3 new satellites. Astra 1N is the first to be replaced, with Astra 2F, sometime in the next few weeks.


    Remember that basic "beepers" ony tell you are you on a satellite, which may not be the satellite you want. More advanced (and expensive) finders are able to distinguish between satellites.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
    • Like Like x 1
  13. JockandRita

    JockandRita Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,658
    Likes Received:
    6,791
    Location:
    Lincs/Cambs border
    We use the a Technomate 5300D+ USB Super FTA receiver.
    The built in on screen signal and quality meters are instant and easy to use, compared with the delayed ones on SKY receivers.
    A basic compass to show me the general direction of South East is all I use, prior to using the on screen meters. More often though, I just look to where other Brits have pointed their dishes, and follow suit. :Wink:

    Cheers,

    Jock.
     
  14. Phill D

    Phill D

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    4,632
    Location:
    South Wales
    Guess i missunderstood the info i was given or it was incorrect.... i stand corrected:Doh:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,326
    Likes Received:
    21,633
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    As Snitrats says he is finding it harder and harder to position the dish, that does suggest whatever he is using as a finder was working fine

    Given the nature of the finders I doubt it will have gone wrong ( though of course anything is possible ) but..............

    It may well be the LNB has gone a bit deaf and or is loosing gain..

    By all means upgrade the sat finder, but if you continue having problems, I would invest in a decent replacement LNB ( esp as they are cheap as chips even for a really good one ! :thumb: )
     
  16. joner8888

    joner8888 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    1,971
    Location:
    somerset
  17. Snitrats

    Snitrats Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    209
    Location:
    Groby Leicester
    Thanks for that but I have a Camos flatsat,which is a different ball game as there is no external LNB, I have heard however that these are subject to water penetration which can effect them.
    In the end I think its me , the last site was a bit borderline with some adjacent trees, could get Astra1 ok , but not Astra2 ,perhaps I need to drink more wine whilst searching:wine:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  18. aba

    aba

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,793
    Likes Received:
    1,119
    Location:
    yorkshire
    maybe some silicone lubricant would help this if you can get some into the bit that rotates.
     
  19. keith

    keith Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Ecclefechan
    Repair a Camos Flat Sat.

    This will be impossible because the unit is sealed. I have fitted my own Camos Flat Sat and last year mine stopped working so given that I could not find any information on if it can be taken apart I decided to try myself.

    In the end I decided I had nothing to loose so dismantled the whole thing and found it was wet inside and the LNB (yes there is one, but not as we known them) was buggered, wet inside.

    The working are very simple, inside the plastic box is a stainless steel matrix that directs the signal to the rear mounted LNB.

    As we were in Spain it was easy to dry the box out in the sun and on returning home Roadpro got me a new LNB and it has been re-assembled and sealed and now works again. This time much more sealant applied this time as I believe the box seal is not good enough.

    The central assembly is encased in what looks like a plastic sleeving with no access to lubricate the workings. You can however lubricate the bolts that holds the 'dish' to the raising mechanism quite easily and they do get stiff as they are outside all the time.

    I have a couple of pictures here
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2012
  20. EA7VPG

    EA7VPG

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Malaga, Spain
    I bought one of these;
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Digital-S...?pt=UK_Sound_Vision_Other&hash=item2a23ca4cb9

    Just input your lat and lon from your GPS then select which satellite you require. Plug your satellite coax into the top of the satellite finder then set your azimuth and elevation. Tune for best signal and quality on the LCD bar graph. When you are on the correct satellite you will hear a audio tone when it locks in. Once locked in disconnect the coax then plug the coax into your satellite receiver. Before you start make sure your skew angle is correct or as near as. Once you are locked in you can fine tune your skew for maximum smoke. Great piece of kit.

    atb
     
Loading...

Share This Page