Satellite dish help

Discussion in 'TV & Satellite' started by Bryan, Oct 5, 2011.

  1. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342
    Hi,

    Well here we are in southern Spain and whilst we do have some UK channels I'd like to get my Sky box working. I know I need a big dish and I have now got a 1.3m one...well, almost

    ....almost because I have the stand, dish, lnb and co-ax...but I DON'T have the arm that fixes to the dish and holds the lnb in place.

    I'm attaching pictures of the dish in the hope that maybe, just maybe, some-one will recognise the make/model and I may be able to get a replacement arm for it.

    :Smile:

    Bryan
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Stephen & Jeannie

    Stephen & Jeannie Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,198
    Likes Received:
    3,261
    Location:
    Gobowen near Oswestry !!
    Durrrr !!

    Doesn't Zahora have "plug in" tv ??????
     
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,335
    Likes Received:
    7,592
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
    Sorry.. dont recognise that dish at all...

    Be aware that BBC have just re-organised their channels so if you had them before they may no longer work on that size dish....
     
  4. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342

    Yes but only about 5 channels and the ITV ones are unreliable....

    Bryan
     
  5. Jaws

    Jaws Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    18,347
    Likes Received:
    21,714
    Location:
    Narrfoook
    Bryan, cannot help with the arm as such, but some time ago I came across some info on making a dish your self..
    It has all the info and measurements on it so with some ingenuity and gaffer tape you could make up something even from a piece of wood ( and no, this is not a joke or wind up ! )

    LNB's are available for very little money from almost anywhere nowadays, so you should be able to get it sorted out quite easily with any luck.

    http://www.vetrun.net/forums/showthread.php?t=481
     
  6. Satandpcguy

    Satandpcguy Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    435
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Gandia, Valencia, Spain
    Most of the Sky package is easily availble on small dishes...I get most channels on an old sky minidish I have on my roof..!

    In Spain a big dish tends to be required for the FTA BBC ITVs channels...and those on the two "north beams" on AStra 2a and Astra 2b (like Sky SPorts 4, Sky SPorts News,)
     
  7. Bryan

    Bryan Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,096
    Likes Received:
    342

    Sorry, when I said I get some UK channels I should have made it clear that they are from the tv hookup the campsite provide.

    I want to get my 1.3m dish working and need the arm for the dish in the pictures...
     
  8. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,717
    Likes Received:
    38,630
    Location:
    Dorset
    No use whatsover.. But when Lady P.. gets there chuck her up on the roof, unscrew one of the coax cables from the site dish and get her to put yours in..

    If there is anything you want sending out give me a shout..
     
Loading...

Share This Page