Satellite Broadband Providers

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by Jim, Sep 11, 2015.

  1. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,856
    Likes Received:
    76,229
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Wherever we are, we need an internet connection for both my business and Katie's schooling and as good as 3g and 4g are; some of the nicest places in Europe are internet black/slow spots so we have decided to have Satellite Internet installed to cover those few times a year that we have no 3g or wifi.

    After much research we've settled on the hardware and gone with an Oyster System. But I've yet to choose the broadband provider. Can anyone recommend one? Thanks
     
  2. mjltigger

    mjltigger Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    2,533
    Location:
    Trowbridge
    I've been considering this option as well. I notice the one you link to says it is internet and hdtv but I presume not both at the same time as the sats would be different.. I guess...

    I've not got the experience of providers you are looking for but there are some on uswitch
     
  3. tonka

    tonka Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5,331
    Likes Received:
    7,584
    Location:
    Cannock, Staffs or Benidorm, spain
  4. laird of Dunstan

    laird of Dunstan Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    3,059
    Location:
    lincolnshire
    We are having the oyster system fitted to our new rapido , I intend to also have a mifi booster as well , wifey wants to work whilst I drive , as far as network providers go, I googled them and they all appear to charge similar prices , I've got a buddy who uses the system ,I'll ask him for recommended suppliers
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    Been down this route and selected Oyster too, for the powered LNB skew. Oyster used to come with the modem already linked to the ISP iCopter but that is no longer the case. I chose satalite internet, as per Tonka's post. The key reason being that you get a UK IP address so using any TV or regional tied streaming from the UK is no issue, no need for a VPN! I am currently at La BellaVista (Manilva) which in theory is outside (just) the footprint for SAT internet reception, but I get a good service here. To be fair I have not used any TV streaming so cannot comment on the ability at this range. We do however stream Radio 4 at various time of the day, I use it when the site WiFi gets overloaded, usually weekend when the Spanish families arrive.
    It was easy to set up and I actually use a WAN switch to select the SAT or WiFi AP into the WAN port of my router.

    Sometimes need to reboot the van router when switching from once source to the other, sometime not, but it does give me flexibility.
    Overall a good choice, mine was installed as a factory option and I did all the router, AP and other connectivity, I think I would use a UK Oyster installer if doing it again because of the support issues, it is a more complicated system than the old Telco I had on the Country Coach which was very easy, however I am getting there.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall

    This link got lost?
     
  7. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    So I posted a link to the Amazon page for the switch but FUN server decided to delete it?? Here is the description
    RJ45 8P8C Network/Telephone AB 2 way 8P8C Manual Sharing Switch Box
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,856
    Likes Received:
    76,229
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    Will the iboost router work with the Oyster?
     
  9. sallylillian

    sallylillian Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    780
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Falmouth, Cornwall
    I would suspect so, I am unfamiliar with it but suppose it is just an ordinary router in principle. They use a similar Ubiquitie AP that I use and the cable that comes from that to their router is the one you put into one side of the switch I posted, or simply unplug and plug in the Oyster modem cable to their router. If you are unsure it might be a good idea to speak with them, I have read that they are helpful and this question cannot be the first time for them?
     
  10. Nirvanauk

    Nirvanauk Funster

    Joined:
    May 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    6,486
    Location:
    God's county. North Yorkshire.
    @Jim we bought into Tooway. The speed was very intermittent and as soon as you used your monthly data allowance you were throttled down to close to zero. My son came home and used the data allowance for the month in a single day.!
    So kicked it into touch, very expensive and very disappointed!
     
  11. Jim

    Jim Ringleader

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    25,856
    Likes Received:
    76,229
    Location:
    Sutton on Sea
    I've seen some awful reviews of Tooway
     
Loading...

Share This Page