Satellite bad weather

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by DavidG58, Aug 3, 2014.

  1. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,274
    Likes Received:
    12,105
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    can bad weather really steal sat tv signal???

    we are in Scotland and the rain is pretty full on

    tuned in TV then lost all signal till rain stopped, is the right

    or a Scottish phenomenon?
     
  2. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,713
    Likes Received:
    38,544
    Location:
    Dorset
    Yes... and fog/drizzle will sometimes have the same effect.. :(
     
  3. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,274
    Likes Received:
    12,105
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire

    Thanks Mo

    Trouble is now having spent 19 months in your company










    are you just taking the piss








    Apologies if this was your serious reply of the month
     
  4. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,713
    Likes Received:
    38,544
    Location:
    Dorset
    One of my few serious answer, mate... (y)

    Expected with a sat dish, being as it`s so far above... long way to pull a signal..

    We occasionally get it in bad rain on our normal TV aerial.. :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Mikeco

    Mikeco Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Market Rasen
    In heavy rain we loose the signal on the house dish for a few minutes on certain channels. I did read that if you coat the dish with oil it can help. Did ours with some spray oil but it still stops working occasionally

    Mike
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,713
    Likes Received:
    38,544
    Location:
    Dorset
    Coating the dish will not make any difference... as said it`s because of the distance from your dish/LNB to the sat, which is the problem..

    With the weather, it`s similar to trying to pick up a signal through tree`s,,, you may pick up a signal in the winter, but as soon as a few leafs come on you lose it.. Much the same with Mist/Rain & Snow especially.. :(
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. busby

    busby Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    3,309
    Likes Received:
    3,130
    Location:
    derbys
    We loose digital tv in bad weather......BUSBY.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Morning David -most also have a TV Ariel as well for such times ;) or better still a few DVDs :LOL:
    terry
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. MikeD

    MikeD Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,974
    Likes Received:
    1,758
    Location:
    London
    We also lose the signal from the satellite dish in bad weather. But we also have an old fashioned ariel that works a treat in any weather.

    Isn't new technology wonderful :rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  10. Don Quixote

    Don Quixote Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,497
    Likes Received:
    3,696
    Location:
    Lost in La Mancha, Spain
    Rain will cause your system to lose the signal and as already stated fog/drizzle can/may sometimes depending on how bad it is also do the same. The reason is it breaks up the signal ( distortion ) or blocks the signal. Oiling your dish will make no difference whatsoever.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. 1Oll

    1Oll Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Cheshire
    May be a good idea to check the connection to to the LNB. WD 40 on the connection first? Perhaps also use self amalgamating tape.
    The larger the dish the better performance in bad weather but they are harder to line up.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. SuperMike

    SuperMike Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    905
    Likes Received:
    1,019
    Location:
    St Albans
    The dish relies on being able to see the satellite. Anything that gets in the way can cause grief and possible loss of picture.

    Got to go back to bed now, to recover from the shock, of a VeryOldMoIceCreamInternetMan sensible answer. :wasntme:
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. old-mo

    old-mo Funster Extra Special Life Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    12,713
    Likes Received:
    38,544
    Location:
    Dorset
    I do have my moments...:rollingeyes:

    Not very often, thank goodness... :*:tounge:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. DavidG58

    DavidG58 Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    6,274
    Likes Received:
    12,105
    Location:
    Bolsover, Derbyshire
    Many thanks all of you, Terry we do have an aerial, but not connected to anything now, we have satellite only TV's, or at least I think we do

    As for getting up there and checking connections, that would require a degree of skill, not to mention tools :D

    The rain has stopped, we have a heavy Scottish mist, but all is fine again now, on the move soon anyway, only really wanted to see the weather, just to confirm how bad it is going to be :LOL:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  15. Welsh girl

    Welsh girl Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,620
    Likes Received:
    1,232
    Location:
    living the dream.
    It's annoying when you lose the signal as we do on satellite in bad weather ,back to the old fashioned aerial. Even that loses signal on the digital so much for progress.!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Terry

    Terry Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    10,722
    Likes Received:
    6,224
    Location:
    South yorks
    Hi David have a look where the Ariel comes through the roof and it will go into a box with co-axe (Ariel wire)wire going into it -prob got switches on it to turn the amplifier on / off -you may have another co axe wire with a plug on that would go into your TV --that's about as much tecky stuff I do with anything with wires on it :DSend my love to Bev and hope the midges are not biting too much
    terry
     
    • Like Like x 1
Loading...

Share This Page