sat nav info

Discussion in 'Motorhome Chat' started by Steve Oraa, Sep 1, 2014.

  1. Steve Oraa

    Steve Oraa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    how do I set the sat nav for European driving
     
  2. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Kent
    More info needed. What Sat Nav.

    If it is a Tomtom and loaded with a European map then, unless it is one of the new Go units, when you want to select a destination in say France, when you press Navigate to press the union jack top right and sart typing the country you want. Select it then you can enter as you do for Uk the name of the village etc.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. iceni

    iceni Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Birmingham
    What type is it
    Garmins you dont have to do owt.
     
  4. Steve Oraa

    Steve Oraa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's a tomtom live
     
  5. Steve Oraa

    Steve Oraa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    I downloaded European maps and I have just done what you said and it comes up as Paris but the thing is, we are crossing to Le Havre and I need to plot a route to Roses in Spain and I'm confused man!
     
  6. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Steve

    Ok here goes

    1 Tap Navigate To.

    2 Tap the flag in the top right and then type S P and then tap Spain when it appears.

    3 You will now see Madrid but with the curser on the top line Type Roses.

    4 When Roses apprears below where you have typed Tap it to select it.

    5 You can now type in the street name at the top etc etc

    Its exactly the same as you do now for the UK except you need to change the Flag at the top right after you have tapped Navigate To so it knows what country to find the destination in.

    Don't forget you will need to change the flag back to UK when you get back.

    If you do it now then when you actually want to go Tap Navigate to then Recent Destinations where it will be listed.

    Hope this helps

    Doug
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. biggsy

    biggsy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Hull
    The usual answer to this sort of query is RTFM.....:)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Steve

    I have just read your post and notice that you are crossing via Le Havre.

    Can I just say that if you do the route now it will suggest via the Tunnel. What you do is

    1 Tap the screen and and then tap Change the route

    2 Tap Travel Via.

    3 Select the ferry terminal you are going from.

    It will then calculate a new route. If you look it will still suggest that when you get to Portsmouth you still travel via the Tunnel at Dover . You just ignore that and when you switch back on in Le Havre it will sort out its recommended route for you to Roses.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2014
  9. BreweryDave

    BreweryDave Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    3,634
    Location:
    Torre Del Mar - Malaga
    Buy a compass from the pound shop and head south;)
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Kent
    Hi Biggsy

    It is amazing how many people have no idea how to work their GPS properly.

    We have friends with one and they have no idea. It doesn't help that if it says Turn right he will turn left because he knows better and doesn't trust it.

    Once SHMBO asked me to sort out the Tomtom to take her to the Excel Centre .

    Off she went . I then got a desperate phone call to say it would not work out a route to get er home.

    I realised what the problem was and sorted her out.

    Our son had recently borrowed the Tomtom and I had set Home on it as the Hotel he was staying in in Orlando. No wonder it could not sort out a route Home for her. If it could have I wonder how far she would have got before she phoned me.

    Doug
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Steve Oraa

    Steve Oraa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi Doug, many thanks for your advice, I will do this, and thanks to everyone else. I'm still trying to understand this website so if I get it wrong, please be patient! I don't know if anyone can help me with a lighting problem that just happened. The light on the side where the sofa is flickered and went out. I changed the bulbthree times and it still didn't work. I checked the fuses and they are ok and strangely enough, the centre double light has also stopped working, yet the lights at the rear still do. As we are leaving tomorrow (2nd) I don't have the time to get it looked at. Can anybody help me?
     
  12. DJA

    DJA Funster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Kent
    Thanks Steve.

    Have a good trip.

    Re the lights do a seperate post with a heading re lighting. Doing it tnis way people will know what the topic is.

    All the best

    Doug
     
  13. Steve Oraa

    Steve Oraa Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks matey, much appreciated.

    Steve
     
  14. iandsm

    iandsm Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,542
    Likes Received:
    2,703
    Location:
    Suffolk
    You need to change your Garmin from Miles to Kilometers to get accuracy, you could also change the map theme to France instead of UK to get the correct cloud codes on the map.
     
  15. Gooney

    Gooney Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,758
    Likes Received:
    7,772
    Location:
    Flintshire
    I've just got a new Nissan Qashqui and the fitted Sat nav is marvellous, if I take a wrong turn it doesn't spend the next 10 or 20 miles like my previous Garmin telling me to do U turns, it just recalculates and gets on with it.
     
  16. tofo

    tofo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,588
    Likes Received:
    6,215
    Location:
    Kirby cross further from londin
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. Dub Dog
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    386
  2. SUE L
    Replies:
    37
    Views:
    863
  3. monaco/frankia
    Replies:
    47
    Views:
    1,381
  4. Ovalball
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    238
  5. Jac Sprat
    Replies:
    90
    Views:
    3,125

Share This Page