sat nav garmin

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by samany, Jan 24, 2010.

  1. samany

    samany Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    cheltenham, glos
    Hi

    Thinking of buying Garmin 265WT satnav. Has anyone got one or know anything about them and what is your opinion.

    Thanks for you help

    Sandra
     
  2. wkdtroll

    wkdtroll Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    North Wales
    Hi Sandra

    We have had a Garmin Nuvi (660 Europe) for over 3 years now (ever since the Tom Tom stopped working just after its warranty expiry in Italian Alps!!):thumbdown:

    We have since been to over 27 different countries across Europe and it has not let us down ever.:thumb:

    Only one grouse with it (well with Garmin actually) we decided to update the maps about 6 months ago and paid £99 as a one-off lifetime subscription to upgrade free of charge every time there is a mapping software upgrade, which seemed like good vfm. However since the upgrade we have had occasions when the screen freezes and the only way to get it to work is by running on battery power (it works fine when it is not plugged into the cigar lighter socket!!!?:RollEyes:

    Having said this we went to Northern Spain and Portugal (via France) in Sep/Oct last year and it worked fine then.

    So overall I can recommend Garmin (certainly over Tom Tom anyway) and you certainly don't need the MP3 player and other toys my 660 has (though the bluetooth phone connection is handy).

    Hope this helps?:thumb:
     
  3. weekenders

    weekenders Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    1,221
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Hi Wkdtroll

    We also have a garmin 660 Nuvi, had it about 3/4 years.

    Ours sometimes freezes at certain points on the motorway, not sure why!!

    Also when we were in germany about 3 years ago with brother in law, we followed them and they were using Tom Tom, his Co-ordinates got them to the Aires spot on, ours was about 2 miles away, do you know of any reason why this would happen??

    Thanks
     
  4. JeanLuc

    JeanLuc Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,782
    Likes Received:
    1,857
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Had a 250W (Europe) for about 2 1/2 years now - an earlier model. I have been very happy with it, allowing for the fact that no SatNav routing is perfect and you cannot disengage the brain when using one. It would be nice to have weight / size restrictions in the programme, but I'm not prepared to pay for one of the truckers' models yet. In any event, they do not have all the French 3.5 tonne town / village restrictions in them anyway

    So on balance, I will give a positive vote for the Garmin Nüvi. Mine is easy to use, accepts Lat/Long co-ords, is reliable and I can store POI files very easily.

    Philip
     
  5. joggerman

    joggerman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Lancashire
    just got a Garmin Nuvi 255W and tried it for the first time this week on a trip to Newcastle.
    It's the 4.3 ins widescreen. UK and Europe Mapping included.

    Absolutely brilliant, loads of info on the screen and easy layout to understand. The voice is good too.

    All for less that £100 with free delivery.
     
  6. billkce

    billkce Funster

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Cabopino in Spain till May 15
    I've had a 265WT for a couple of years & it is great for cities. Need to be circumspect when heading for unknown areas. By that I mean, you should know roughly where you are going & let Garmin deal with the fine detail. You can input Lat & Long which is useful & I've installed all the Aires in France.

    I got Doc Brown's voice installed - which is fun.:thumb:
     
  7. samany

    samany Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    cheltenham, glos
    sat nav

    Hi

    Thanks to you all for your info, I will be buying one soon.

    Regards

    Sandra
     
  8. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    12,697
    Location:
    Norfolk
    We have had a Garmin 2610 for several years , used it in the US and Europe excellent but no lat long input, so have recently bought Garmin nuvi 865t which so far is vgood with lat long search , voice input etc.
     
  9. TonyIsh UK

    TonyIsh UK Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are Garmin units easy to install POIs supplied by third parties ?

    Can Autotoute Itinaries be converted and loaded into the units ?

    Thanks

    Rgds
     
  10. ehuplad

    ehuplad Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    93
    Location:
    North Yorkshire

    Just bought the same model on Friday, Downloaded the latest maps for free (you hav 30 days to do this) Not had chance to us it yet.
     
  11. peter marshall

    peter marshall

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    1,701
    Location:
    Cleveleys,Lancashire
    hi Sandra
    I have a garmin 250 done France and parts of Spain & UK of course all ok, just up dated free but loaded the wrong maps south & central and lost UK I talked to garmin who put me right, I then uploaded west & central now all ok again, so I will see what its like next month when we go to Spain. Pete & Lynn. :thumb::thumb::thumb:
     
  12. Larrynwin

    Larrynwin Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    12,697
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Haven't tried that yet, but I believe so

    Larry
     
Loading...

Share This Page