Sat nav and GPS

Discussion in 'GPS Navigation' started by Dog lover, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. Dog lover

    Dog lover Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Hi all.
    I am aware that I'm firstly probably asking something that has already been asked or sounds stupid. But here goes any way.

    We are about to purchace a sat nav, I notice that there are plus's and minus's for all. I also notice that there are GPS settings for aires and sites throughout Europe. My question is this.
    Can anyone recomend a Sat nav with european mapping and is there one that that has GPS??:Smile:
     
  2. olley

    olley Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3,702
    Likes Received:
    2,091
    Location:
    Ipswich
    Hi Doglover most if not all satnavs have Europeon mapping available, and most will allow third party POI's (Points Of Interest) to be loaded. GPS is an acronym for Global Positioning System, which is how all satnavs work

    Olley
     
  3. chrisboyo

    chrisboyo Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    825
    Location:
    Newport South Wales
    Hi
    I have a Tom Tom One V3 with european mapping and it worked a treat on our 1 month trip to France this year useing aires
    Cost about £75
    Happy daze
    Chrisboyo
     
  4. dshague

    dshague Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    sth yorks
    hi there its tom tom for me :thumb:
     
  5. Diabalo

    Diabalo Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,966
    Likes Received:
    379
    Location:
    Rochester
    Garmin for me:thumb:
     
  6. quicksam

    quicksam Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kiskunhalas - Hungary
    TomTom one here, it's guided me round Europe many times - easy to use, easy to set up and the maps are readily downloadable from the internet - :Nowink::Nowink:
     
  7. blueraven

    blueraven Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Stockport, Cheshire
    Tomtom

    Hi there
    It's another vote for Tom Tom, we have TomTom One with europe maps, make sure you have a backup on your computer before updating via tomtom home, i made one as instructed (or so I thought) but it didn back up the maps, i lost them and it took four days for tomtom to answer the phone on their helpline, once they answered, extremely helpful man helped me re-load them after he credited my account with replacements and i downloaded them. it broke on Sunday, we left for Hull-Rotterdam Wednesday at 3.30pm. I had it fixed at 3.20pm Wednesday:cry-smile:

    The TomTom has come out as one of the top rated for ease of use, I would wholeheartedly concur with that, you pick the country and touch it's map you're going to (all touch screen) put in the town name then the address or you can simple put in the postcode if you know it. We toured Germany and Austria via Rotterdam crossing in August and we never got lost once. Ab brill. :thumb:
     
  8. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Another TT fan.. TT One XL Europe .. ticks all the boxes.. :thumb:

    no bells or whistles.. intuitive and easy to use.
     
  9. Dog lover

    Dog lover Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Derbyshire
    Thanks all. Youv'e all given me something to ponder!
     
  10. joe50

    joe50 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    I have a Tom Tom for three years. One of best accessories I bought for motorhoming. It brought be down one or two very narrow roads over that time. Other than that - great especially when abroad.

    To be honest I don't think there is a huge difference between TT and Garmin.:Smile:
     
  11. Baggins

    Baggins Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Torbay
    TomTom classic (old model without integral stand) with Europe does all it says on the box - paid £80 about 6 months ago as upgrading my TT UK and Ireland would have cost £60.

    Some one-way systems in towns - I remember Lisbon especially!! - give it problems but this may just be updates needed.

    BW
     
  12. Stroudwaterboy

    Stroudwaterboy Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gloucestershire
    I have ended up with both Tom Tom and Garmin, don't ask I didn't mean too!

    As with most tech kit they work fine and both do the job, you get to your destination without getting lost just in slightly different ways.

    Be careful they do not all do Europe and if you have to add it on it is often cheaper to buy a new unit (you guessed)
     
  13. navman

    navman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Again TT for me... Have had it in several forms... In an IPAQ Smart phone and now on the IPhone. Great bit of kit
     
  14. Pikey Pete

    Pikey Pete Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    1,141
    Location:
    o
    I'm interested in putting TomTom on my iPhone 3G but have read some bad reviews. Would you recommend it and if so how good is it.

    Pete:Cool:
     
  15. navman

    navman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Hi

    As you would expect the interface is just the business. There are a couple of down sides at this time.

    You cannot import any POIs of your own and very occasionally mine looses the GPS signal in the car. Now this may be because of the case my IPhone is in I am not sure. Strangely enough it works perfectly in the motorhome.

    They are bringing out a holder that will have a GPS unit in it so the IPhone will connect to that and the power supply when in the screen holder. Not too sure how that will work if your phone has a case on.

    Overall I think it is a great bit of kit and I am sure as the upgrades come along the POI issue will be addressed.:thumb:
     
  16. chatter

    chatter Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,723
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    cheshire
    Both TomTom and Garmin are good, I have over the years used both, one thing to remember when using sat navs though is to never disengage the brain (drivers brain), if a road that it wants to take you down looks not quite right go past it the satnav will plot an alternative route if you miss a turning. I still have a quick check of a route on my computor or road map when going somewhere strange to me.
     
  17. geoff1947

    geoff1947 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    999
    Likes Received:
    89
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Tom Tom

    Got my Tom Tom one xl Europe from Halfords. Apparently its easier to update than Garmin or so the man at Halfords said Don't know if thats true but v happy with TT :thumb:
     
  18. Bulletguy

    Bulletguy Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cheshire/Staffs
    I use a TomTom 700 which is considered 'old' now but at the time they came out it was TT's top of the range job selling at the astronomical figure of over £300. I paid £90 for mine off eBay a couple of years ago so i would think you could probably get one for around £70 if you look carefully. This model has a large internal hard drive.

    Mine came with full Western Europe mapping but i uprated to the latest version and also added Eastern europe.

    As a solo traveller i've found it extremely useful but as someone else has also pointed out no GPS is 100% foolproof and there will be times when it indicates you are driving across a field even though you are on a road. Bit weird when it first occurs but you soon get used to it and keep going until the direction arrow 'finds' the road again. This usually happens when a new section of roadway has been laid.

    The other downside is roadworks which once again no GPS can predict. Whilst in Germany this year i lost count of the number of roads i came across entirely blocked off due to roadworks. You just have to keep driving around until the GPS re-writes another route out!
     
  19. Autoquest

    Autoquest Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Small EU backwater
    I use IGO2008 on a chinese 7" HD screen c/w POIs from ARCHIESCAMPINGS - Unbeatable IMHO :BigGrin:
     
  20. scotjimland

    scotjimland Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Messages:
    28,934
    Likes Received:
    25,574
    Location:
    .
    Hi
    so what hardware do you use to run IGO 2008 on ?

    jim
     
Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. laurieash
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    406
  2. Madmag
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    606
  3. parigby
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    705
  4. maison
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    649
  5. ralphie67
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    422

Share This Page