Sat dish from Maplins

Discussion in 'Tech/Mech General' started by Loujess, Aug 22, 2013.

  1. Loujess

    Loujess Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    Is there a thread on here about those satellite dishes you can get at Maplins? We just got one today and are going to try it out in the driveway over the weekend but it looks mighty complicated and sparks might fly. There is a cable which plugs the box into the 3 pin plughole, but what happens if you are on 12v. The 3 pin things don't work then. Or will there be something with the package that will help? I'm dreading this. :BigGrSatin:

    Ivy
     
  2. lesleyjean

    lesleyjean Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Devon
    Think positive Ivy:Smile:

    Throw away the instructions:Smile::Laughing:

    Spend hours trying to figure it out:Smile:

    Search for instructions:Smile:

    Give up:Smile:

    Look at it another day:Smile:


    Next time..........

    Penny drops.......

    Works a treat.....:Smile:










    Good luck:Laughing:
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. lesleyjean

    lesleyjean Funster

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,151
    Likes Received:
    1,946
    Location:
    Devon
    sorry Ivy:cry:


    Someone will be along in a minute to help you.:Smile:

     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. greyman1

    greyman1 Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    273
    Location:
    manchester
    if you have got the suitcase set up meant for caravans/ mh etc it should have a 12v cig adapter with it . if it is the type meant for free to air at home it may well be 240v only ! garry
     
  5. andyman

    andyman Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Hi if you look in the classified ads I am giving away a suitcase sat system complete but no reciever. If you can use this with what you have let me know.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,436
    Likes Received:
    25,115
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Many.

    Usually ending in "The funeral will be tomorrow......"

    First tip - look around, see where the other dishes point.
    Second - give thanks to Allah.
    Third - give thanks to Jesus.
    Fouth - praise Buddha.

    Fit the signal meter in line - you did buy one !

    Note the dish does not point up, it's more or less vertical.

    Make sure you have a clear line of site to satellite.

    Now do a load of Z moves, side to side a bit, up, side to side a bit.

    If you find a squeak on the meter but no picture you could be on the wrong satellite, move it just a few degrees and start again.

    Open that bottle of Vodka you've kept for emergencies.
     
    • Like Like x 6
  7. Geo

    Geo Trader - Funster

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,536
    Likes Received:
    5,587
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    If it were a 12 volt version it wouldn't have a 3 pin thingy would it:Doh:

    It would have the cig lighter lead and the same single pin socket with a 240v to 12v transformer
    Me thinks with a 3 pin socket thingy your stuffed its mains 240v only:RollEyes:
     
  8. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,436
    Likes Received:
    25,115
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ours has both.
     
  9. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,467
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    not neccessarily Geo.

    my old (very old) Comag Porty receiver (aldi i beleive but bought privately) has both 12v and 230v leads...permanently (factory) fitted.

    no black box....its all inside the receiver.

    230v on/off switch (button) on the front and a 12v on/off rocker switch on the back
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2013
  10. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,467
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    what is the make and model Ivy, and do you have a link to the relevant maplins page
     
  11. Loujess

    Loujess Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Leeds UK
  12. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,436
    Likes Received:
    25,115
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Much better if you fit a permanent socket in the lounge then it's there for other things. And a touch safer.

    You might need to search ebay for a sturdy old tripod to make mounting easier.
     
  13. Loujess

    Loujess Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    Yes - I would have preferred a tripod but will the dish fit on any one or do I need a specific size/type? :BigGrin:

    Ivy
     
  14. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,467
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    mines clamped to an old camera tripod.

    just needs a little ingenuity figuring out the clamping arrangement.

    running an extension from the lounge to the cab may cause a volt drop.

    as Brian said....a permanent socket near the tv would be better and easy to do if theres already a 12v socket for the tv.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
  15. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,436
    Likes Received:
    25,115
    Location:
    Macclesfield
    Ditto.

    Of course the problem with a low mounted tripod can be total lack of reception.
     
  16. Loujess

    Loujess Read Only Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,261
    Likes Received:
    3,168
    Location:
    Leeds UK
    We do have a 2 flat pin socket for the tv when we don't have EHU, but does this mean that we will still need another 12v socket in the same place for the sat box as well? I'm sure it will all become clearer on Sunday when we get cracking with it. :BigGrin:

    Ivy
     
  17. hilldweller

    hilldweller Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    26,436
    Likes Received:
    25,115
    Location:
    Macclesfield
  18. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,467
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
    certainly can be a reception problem when the dish is at ground level...so many things can block signals...houses, trees, walls, other motorhomes, TINFOIL. :Angry::Wink: .
     
    • Like Like x 2
  19. pappajohn

    pappajohn Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    29,467
    Likes Received:
    16,915
    Location:
    YO11 2BD
  20. TheBig1

    TheBig1 Funster Life Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,223
    Likes Received:
    9,604
    Location:
    Dorset
    for my tripod, I went for a more substantial one choosing a DJ type speaker stand. cost £25 at the time from maplins.

    it hods the dish very solid and can be raised from 3ft to 6ft for sites that have problems with bushes and low trees. as a rule of thumb if a tree or other object is obscuring your direct view of the satellite you need to be at least twice the distance from the object as it is high.

    oh and forget the awful little satellite dish in the kit. other than in the strongest signal band you will struggle to get a signal. certainly wont get a signal as far north as scotland or south in france. after struggling a couple of times to get and keep a signal, I bought a cheap 60cm house type dish. pick up a U bolt from a local exhaust fitter or ebay and a couple of wing nuts. couldnt be simpler
     
Loading...

Share This Page