Samsung galaxy note 8 wifi

Discussion in 'Web Connections' started by MickyP, Aug 17, 2013.

  1. MickyP

    MickyP Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Alhama de Murcia, Spain
    I have treated myself to the note and have now learned how to use it.
    I want to use this when out and about for Skype and e-mail and a bit of browsing.
    not knowing to much about connectivity how or what is the best way to connect when no wifi available?
    I also have a sim free LG 5 phone,
    I know I can buy a sim to use in Morocco but obviously can't plug it into the note
    any help or advice on the best easiest way to connect?.
    Thank you
     
  2. chaser

    chaser Funster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    7,740
    Location:
    uttoxeter
    Should be able to tether it to your phone wirelessly, could cost a bit in data charges though:Sad:
     
  3. Ed Excel

    Ed Excel Funster

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Ribble Valley
  4. mitzimad

    mitzimad Funster

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,971
    Likes Received:
    3,326
    Location:
    walthamstow east london
    on most phones you can activate them to act as a hotspot then your tablet picks up the wifi from that
    on android phones from your home screen click menu- settings- wireless and networks scroll down to portable wi fi hotspot and tap to activate when the tick appears its on then go back to the tablet and it should come up on your available networks
     
  5. MickyP

    MickyP Funster

    Joined:
    May 13, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Alhama de Murcia, Spain
    Have put a program called FoxFi a free android download from play store it works well and I have no trouble getting Internet this way, this is OK when I wildcamp in Spain as I have lots of data on my phone package, but will not be able to use this when I roam UK, France, Morocco etc, so can I connect a Dongle for whatever country I am in direct to tablet with a otg cable. Will I need any program or is it automatically set?
    THANK YOU
     
Loading...

Share This Page