Royal Vale - What's that all about then? (1 Viewer)

RogerThat

LIFE MEMBER
May 20, 2016
North West
Funster No
MH
PVC
Soooo......

I recently spent some time at the Royal Vale site in Cheshire - This one http://www.royalvale.co.uk

Now, I'm still pretty new to this motorhoming malarky but I'm getting seasoned pretty quick (this was my 28th site in 14 months) and I've spent my time trying out a range of large CC sites, small CL sites, large C&CC sites, small CS sites and various privately owned sites (which are members of neither club). I've been doing this to try and work out which I prefer best, anyway, I digress...

So, Royal Vale... What's that all about then?

There's something unusual about this site that I can't quite put my finger on.

I'll give you a few examples :)

There are 52 pitches on this site, of the 52 available some 46 were occupied and during my three day stay there was only three motorhomes there (including my own). The rest were all caravans. This might be common, but in all my trips thus far this imbalance was so unusual it stood out. A lot.

Of the 43 caravans on site, I counted 19 caravans that hadn't moved for a long time. I mean, a really long time. My signs of this static-ness were grass growing around them (and not around others), waste water pipes of the white-kitchen-type variety were all conveniently exactly the correct length to reach the grey drains, many had large awnings up (again with grass growing up around them), many also had a load of random stuff shoved underneath (various surplus caravan items, timber, bricks, other odd stuff).

Most of the seemingly-static caravans had wheel clamps fitted. Is theft of caravans from campsites, which are behind barriers, common place?

There were a lot of empty caravans, nobody came or went to a hell of a lot of them in the time I was there and the blinds all stayed down, permanently.